Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-13-2011

Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Message 1 of 8
(6,099 Views)

My TV's IR sensor is busted so I have no remote capabilities to control the TV.  I am looking for a way to turn off the TV along with my SD box at the same time.  Is this possible?  

 

With my past service (cable) I was able to achieve this by plugging my TV's power into the cable box.  Once I powered off the cable box, my TV shut off.  Basically it killed the power to the TV.

 

I am looking for a way to do this with my Verizon SD box.

 

I have plugged my TV into the SD box, tried powering off the SD box, but the TV remains on.  Is there anything I'm missing?  I've gone through the SD box settings menu and cannot find an option.

 

Please help!

 

Thanks in advance.

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Message 2 of 8
(6,073 Views)

You have to go to Menu, settings, set top box, secondary outlet. You can change it from always on to off when box is off. Simply giving the TV power though wont necessarily turn it on. You would still need to press the power button on the front of the TV.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-20-2010

Re: Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Message 3 of 8
(6,036 Views)

This is what worked for me using the RC144 5302 / 00B Remote! Hope it helps!

 

  1. Press and hold the STB key.
  2. While holding the STB key, press OK.
  3. Release both keys. The device Keys will blink twice.
  4. Press 9-7-7. The STB key will blink twice.
  5. One after the other, press each device Key you want the Power Key to control in the order you want them to turn on or off.
  6. Press OK when done. The STB key will blink 3 times to indicate success in programming!
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Message 4 of 8
(6,016 Views)

No they are saying the IR sensor on the TV doesn't work. The programming steps you put in there is to program the remote when power is pressed to send two power commands out of the remote. One goes to the TV and one to his Verizon box. If his IR sensor is broken, that command will not control his TV. He was hoping to have a setting in the box to send a power command through the cabling to turn off the TV or a way to just kill power to the TV when the box is turned off. I appreciate your willingness to help and those steps for programming the remote that way are perfect, just not applicable in his situation.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-13-2011

Re: Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Message 5 of 8
(6,003 Views)

Anthony - Your method worked for me and was exactly what I was looking for, thank you for your help.  Not sure how I missed that setting previously but i digress...

 

Now if we can only get a sleep timer function on the box I'd be all set 🙂

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Message 6 of 8
(5,993 Views)

Glad to hear that your question was solved. Please make sure to mark this post as being resolved.

 

Unfortunately there is no sleep timer setting in the boxes yet. It is a great suggestion though. This would be a perfect candidate for the Verizon Idea Exchange. Please search on the idea exchange and cast your vote. There may be another member who made the same suggestion. If not, please add a new idea so your fellow community members can comment and vote on your suggestion. http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-Idea-Exchange/ct-p/ideaexchange . The Verizon Idea Exchange is there for you to submit your ideas and suggestions to Verizon so that we can consider them as we innovate our

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

Re: Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Message 7 of 8
(5,888 Views)

This is exactly what I want to do with my new FIOS setup with CISCO HD DVR, but I received a remote with two power buttons (RC2655001).  Is there a procedure that will allow me to hit just one power button for both DVR and TV?

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Turn off TV and SD box with one button?

Message 8 of 8
(5,849 Views)

The step by step on how to turn both TV and box on with the power button can be found here...

 

https://www22.verizon.com/ForYourHome/VZRepair/vziha/Service.aspx?ihaweb=WebRemoteSetup

 

 

 

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.