Tv freezes for a few seconds

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2017

Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 1 of 22
(20,022 Views)

Tv freezes for a few seconds 

21 REPLIES 21
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,910
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 2 of 22
(19,831 Views)

Can you be more specific?

Is it all channels?
If you have more than 1 STB is it all of them?
What model STB(s) do you have?

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-21-2017

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 3 of 22
(19,770 Views)

That’s all my tv shows do lately is freeze several times a day and the shows I watch always freeze! And I’ve had I repaired several times since I’ve had the FIOS do a repair and it helps for a little while and returns! It’s very frustrating!

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,910
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 4 of 22
(19,763 Views)

Same questions as I posted previously.

What has Verizon done?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-27-2017

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 5 of 22
(19,674 Views)

I have this same issue.

 

It affects all channels and there does not seem to be any pattern for when it happens - except at the most critical part of the show we are watching.  😞

 

We have a single STB, 1 TV, no DVR and Gigabit service.  Our STB is a model CHS 335HDC.

 

We have tried resetting the STB, router, etc. and this doesn't

 seem to have any effect.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,910
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 6 of 22
(19,653 Views)

Have you tried tightening all coax connections starting at ONT all the way to STB?

If you have, it may be that the box is failing.

You would need to contact suppoer 1800Verizon or twitter @verizonsupport


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-30-2017

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 7 of 22
(19,613 Views)

We have had the same problem since FIOS was installed.  A channel will freeze.  Other channels seem ok.  Only a reset/reboot will clear the condition.  Verzion repair has been out three times and cannot fix the problem.  My own opinion is that the firmware on the box is not up-to-date and the unerlying Linux OS is not very well designed.   The OS has a lot of overhead and a lot of things going on in the background.  I have no internal details on this but I know from working with operating systems for more than 40 years that software is usually the problem child.   I had DirecTV before I switched to FIOS and I am very sorry that I did that.  DirecTV has better boxes, better software, easier to use interface and remote controls.  I'm going back to DirecTV.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,910
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 8 of 22
(19,591 Views)

What model STB do you have?

I have never had issues with channels freezing due to box issues.

I have had everything from the 64XX to 7XXX to now the Quantum series (I have never had Cisco boxes).

My experience is that channel issues are either coax related or a problem with ONT.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2013

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 9 of 22
(17,695 Views)

Have the same issue. Had 4 tech visits who checked all internal wiring, no issue was found with any wires or connections. Techs replaced their FIOS equipment two times, each time there is a minor improvement, but freezing continues.  When asked all 4 techs, to include two senior techs, advised after seeing the issue themselves, they had no idea what the cause was.. The equipment replacement was simply a blind effort to resolve it.

 

I am convinced Verizon is well aware of their signal issue and is unable to resolve it or acknowledge it is a network issue.... I spoke with my neighbors who have also experienced this issue as well leading me to believe the issue rests with Verizons signal itself...  I am at my wits end and preparing to drop Verizon for another media subscriber.  The only item not replaced is our DVR yet each tech advised the DVR would have no effect...

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2013

Re: Tv freezes for a few seconds

Message 10 of 22
(17,584 Views)

Fios STILL pausing randomly.  I note that it seems to occur when recording on another channel and was wondering if anyone has looked at this as the cause ??

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.