×

Switch Account

Update Alert - IMG 1.9.4

Update Alert - IMG 1.9.4

Reply
Bronze Contributor III
Bronze Contributor III
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 1 of 23
(4,091 Views)

For those of you who, like me, were still in IMG 1.9.1 territory, you may have gotten updated last night to 1.9.4. It started around 2:55 a.m. by quickly resetting my STBs and leaving them without IMG functions for about 5 minutes. Then all the boxes started shutting down randomly to receive the new update. It finished about 3:30 a.m. EDT. Of course this was in the middle of one of my recordings, again (thanks Verizon).

 

I haven't discovered anything major yet. If your STB did not have the FiOS TV Home Screen before, you will need to disable it now (unless you enjoy spam when you turn your TV on, to each his own). Also, check your recording schedule (resets can do funny things like rescheduling conflicts that you'd already taken care of). And of course you will have to set your Guide mode again. Unfortunately, all the same issues with the Guide, Genres & Filters, and the Subscribed channels functions (as detailed here) remain in this update.

 

Probably the biggest change is to the Export Series to Cloud option. This setting can now be used to save all your settings to Verizon servers so that they can be transferred to a new STB/DVR in the event a replacement is needed. You can also use this function to transfer your settings from one STB/DVR to any other STB/DVR in your house. Not only does this mean that you do not have to reprogram all your settings into the replacement, but now you only have to program one box, Save those settings to the cloud and then use the Restore function to transfer those settings to any other box in your house. (Be aware that boxes get reset after a restore.)

 

To disable the FiOS TV Home Screen:

Menu > Settings > Television > Promotions > Disable > OK > Exit

 

The Export Series to Cloud function:

DVR > Settings > Export Series to Cloud > OK

 

The Save Settings function:

Menu > Settings > Save Settings > OK > OK > OK

 

The Restore Settings function:

Menu > Settings > Restore Settings > OK > OK > (Select Location Name) > OK

 

Not sure if the Export Series to Cloud function is the same as the Save Settings function, or if it still only does the Series settings. The Save Settings function describes itself in more detail and definitely does save everything (no not the recordings themselves). So I would choose this option until Verizon realizes that it left the other one there and decides to inform us of any differences.

 

That's it for now.

 

(Special thanks to Justin for tipping me off to the new ability to transfer settings from one STB to another.)


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

22 REPLIES 22
Gold Contributor II Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 2 of 23
(4,060 Views)

THe home screen is not a 1.9.4 feature.  I have it on MY DVR that is still running 1.9.1.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor III
Bronze Contributor III
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 3 of 23
(4,053 Views)

Hi TNS_2,

 

You are correct. The FiOS TV Home Screen was part of the last 1.9.1 updates, but not for all STB models. While one of my boxes got it in 1.9.1, the other 3 just got it with the 1.9.4 update. That's why I put it as an " If ".


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 4 of 23
(4,048 Views)

@lacticacidtrip wrote:

 

The FiOS TV Home Screen was part of the last 1.9.1 updates, but not for all STB models. While one of my boxes got it in 1.9.1, the other 3 just got it with the 1.9.4 update ...


You don't indicate the model numbers for your devices nor which devices show which properties for which IMG versions (a daunting task for sure).

 

Until you mentioned this, I was under the impression that, neglecting certain physical limitations and specifications, all STB/DVR models showed essentially the same features for a given IMG version or update.  I'm of course referring to general features, of which the new Home Screen is an example (a less than useful example in my view).

 

I take it you are saying this is not the case.

Bronze Contributor III
Bronze Contributor III
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 5 of 23
(4,026 Views)

Hi armond_in_nj,

 

Yes. Strangely. I had also assumed that the reason my STBs had not gotten the Home Screen is because they were too old and it would take too much time to load. But here it is. YAY! My DVR (6416) received the Home Screen in 1.9.1. My STBs (2500s) just received it in 1.9.4.

 

In addition, the Audio Alert chimes on my DVR are chiming again (for such actions as deleting recordings). I do not know if the update turned them back on, or just fixed them so that they work again. I just know that I haven't heard them for a long time. This is another option that is not currently available on my STBs.

 

Audio Alerts:


Menu > Settings > Audio > Audio Alerts > On/Off > OK > Exit


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 6 of 23
(3,993 Views)

@lacticacidtrip wrote:
...

 

Audio Alerts:


Menu > Settings > Audio > Audio Alerts > On/Off > OK > Exit



Have you confirmed that with the audio alerts on that the STB provides Dolby Digital 5.1 signals (when present in the channel)?  When this alert function was first introcuded. it disable DD 5.1. 

Bronze Contributor III
Bronze Contributor III
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 7 of 23
(3,945 Views)

PJL wrote: Have you confirmed that with the audio alerts on that the STB provides Dolby Digital 5.1 signals (when present in the channel)?  When this alert function was first introcuded. it disable DD 5.1. 

 

Hi PJL,

 

No, I'm afraid my receiver is too old to even test for that. I wasn't aware that it was even an issue. I was just commenting on the fact that my Audio Alerts were making noise again. Not sure I even like it.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Copper Contributor hardcorerobot
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-30-2010
Message 8 of 23
(3,940 Views)

I got mine last night, but now my external drive is not showing up. I tried enabling external storage again and rebooting, still not showing on reboot. Happening to anyone else?

Bronze Contributor III
Bronze Contributor III
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 9 of 23
(3,895 Views)

Question for someone who still has IMG 1.9.1:

 

This question regards the Info Bar while using slow-motion. Play a recording on a DVR. Press Pause and the Info Bar pops up. Press FF to start slow motion and the bar goes away. Now press REW to start reverse slow motion. Upon pressing the REW button (or each successive direction reversal), my DVR displays the smaller Info Bar again (like when REW or FF). Is this new or did this happen before as well?


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎07-20-2009
Message 10 of 23
(3,835 Views)

Thank you, lacticacidtrip, for taking the time to research and document these changes for us.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.