×

Switch Account

VIOS DVR CAPACITY

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 11 of 38
(4,718 Views)

As a former Dish subscriber, I understand your frustration in stepping down from top-line model DVRs to a lesser product; but the specs have been clearly posted for a long time and freely available in many locations. So I must say that the decision to switch, like mine, was voluntary and no swindle involved. I have stayed with FIOS because of the quality of the signal. Because of the age of FIOS, around 5 years, I give FIOS some latitude in catching up technologically. With two software updates remaining this year, one of which will allegedly enable an external hard drive, some of the issues will be resolved. There is still plenty more to want fixed as well, such as better VOD library and PIP functions for the DVR. I really miss side-by-side PIP during football season. Because you have a family and time may not be on your side, your decision to switch back to what you know is understandable. We all make decisions in the best interest for our individual situations.  Good luck.  Thank you.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-30-2010

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 12 of 38
(4,682 Views)

I am also disappointed with the capacity available.  I have a question that I did not see asked anywhere in this post.  Is it possible to offload recordings from the DVR to a DVD burner on your PC?  In other words, you can access your DVR remotely via your PC to program it, so it has networking capabilities.  Can the DVR's HD be made to look like a shared drive on a network?  Not the best solution but at least something temporary until something better comes along.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 13 of 38
(4,672 Views)

 


@TwoShoes wrote:

I am also disappointed with the capacity available.  I have a question that I did not see asked anywhere in this post.  Is it possible to offload recordings from the DVR to a DVD burner on your PC?  In other words, you can access your DVR remotely via your PC to program it, so it has networking capabilities.  Can the DVR's HD be made to look like a shared drive on a network?  Not the best solution but at least something temporary until something better comes along.


 

No.

 

The only thing that comes close to being able to do this is the TiVO. The TiVO HD transfers are Very Slow, but I believe the newer TiVO is faster. If you have a Tivo you can add an external drive.

 

So perhaps with the 1.9 in a Verizon DVR this will not be an issue since you can add an external drive.

 

Still same Guide provider.

Still same lack of third party VOD options.

Still no ability to transfer content? We shall see on this one.

 

If Verizon does not allow existing customers to upgrade to the newer Cisco hardware. I will be ordering Cablcards and replacing it all myself. The HD box I just picked up is the same giant size as the DVR. It might as well be a Tivo.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-30-2010

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 14 of 38
(4,650 Views)

Thanks for the reply, hoped for a better answer but did not expect there would be one.  Need to see what the new software will do then maybe time to look for a new provider.  Thanks again.

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-28-2010

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 15 of 38
(4,275 Views)

The "solution" I use is to copy programs from the DVR to a DVD recorder.  The drawback is that a DVD+R only holds 2 hrs, and it's a manual process.   I use a Toshiba D-R400, which is an SD recorder that upconverts to HD.   I can't tell the difference between HD and an upconverted DVD, but maybe I need new glasses. 🙂

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎03-09-2009

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 16 of 38
(4,144 Views)

I also have a Toshiba DVD-R. My complaint is that FIOS, unlike Cablevision, does not enable a user to do a "Background" recording. When I was with Cablevision, I could download a recording while watching another program. This was probably because Cablevision had (has?) picture-in-picture capability, while FIOS does not.

 

FIOS - any chance of Picture-in-Picture being added? The remote supports it, and I would guess, the cable box would too with the right software/firmware.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 17 of 38
(4,135 Views)

they probably have accessible dual tuners, while fios has dual tuners but only one is accessible at a time -  PIP is not coming anytime soon, but quad tuners may be coming which would let you do that.       The bigger hard drives will solve your problem before all of that happens.     so right now hard drives are only 160 gb's they will be upto 1.5 TB after 1.9 rolls out and allows the 1tb expansion.  that will be more than 619.6 hours of SD and 147.8 hours of HD

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎04-06-2010

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 18 of 38
(4,109 Views)

Tomorrow I am installing FIOS bundle with DVR and despite all my efforts nobody at Verizon can tell me what DVR will I get -old 6416 or newer 320MB DVR, that I know is coming... One Verizon rep. told me that new DVR are already available in some areas and I have to insist to the tech to install new DVR, others don't know the answer altogether. So, I just wonder is new 320Mb is available? Or we will have to wait many more months for the newer DVR? And, by the way, which DVR will come first CISCO or Motorola? And what is the difference between those...

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-15-2010

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 19 of 38
(4,102 Views)

Mine is being installed as we speak and I'm getting 7216s. I'm in NYC and am wondering if any of the newer ones are here yet?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 20 of 38
(4,090 Views)

buffalo was one of the first places to get the cisco's and the bigger motorola's so you may get them.   i wouldn't call customer serrvice because they can't specify, unless you call them understanding that all they can do is "write a remark" on the order that the tech hopefully see's indicating you want one.   I don't think they can garuntee that yet?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.