VIOS DVR CAPACITY

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 31 of 38
(3,000 Views)

www.verizon.com/fiostvcentral -> My TV -> Set Top Box -> bottom right banner ad about ur DVR > Click and fill in the info to be placed on the waiting list.     

 

 

if you signed up at the above website, they are starting to contact people for the upgrade.   if you haven't signed up at the above website, then follow the instructions and get on the list, so you can get your upgrade email

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎05-31-2010

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 32 of 38
(2,937 Views)

@Hubrisnxs wrote:

www.verizon.com/fiostvcentral -> My TV -> Set Top Box -> bottom right banner ad about ur DVR > Click and fill in the info to be placed on the waiting list.     

  

if you signed up at the above website, they are starting to contact people for the upgrade.   if you haven't signed up at the above website, then follow the instructions and get on the list, so you can get your upgrade email


According to folks posting at the FIOS forum at dslreports.com, the upgrade to the Motorola 7232 500GB DVR costs $40.  When firmware 1.9 comes out that's supposed to allow attaching an external (eSata) hard drive to the 7xxx series Motorolas.  Heck, an external hard drive would cost more than $40.  So, if I get the option I think I will switch out to the 7232.  Hope that 1.9 firmware improves the look of the guide, too!

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 33 of 38
(2,930 Views)

there are some news blogs that got a sneak peak at 1.9 and it looks SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET    

 

a little blue though....

 

o_O

 

if you do a google image search for fios 1.9 you'll see some pics. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-19-2011

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 34 of 38
(2,766 Views)

Could be a difference in priorities, but I honestly don't care too much about "high quality" in my recordings, as long as the content is preserved.

 

I am able to easily fit 12 1/2-hr tv episodes on a single 4.7g DVD-RW, in VR mode on my older sony RDR-VX530 VCR+DVD Recorder.  It takes some onscreen editing to ID the different episodes with the DVD remote, but once it's finalized it works out fine for us.

 

Unfortunately, as stated before, it is only available in real-time.  I am faced with over 30 hours of recordings to be preserved, before I can schedule VZ to replace my HD box...  It has to be reset almost daily in order for the SD Boxes to see the DVR content, at those same times, cannot access VOD, and (here's a strange one...) the series manager won't stop at "Keep up to ###" episodes.  I have one series that was set to ###=14, it was up to 26 episodes before I started deleting them.

 

 

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎12-11-2009

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 35 of 38
(2,758 Views)

"I am able to easily fit 12 1/2-hr tv episodes on a single 4.7g DVD-RW, in VR mode on my older sony RDR-VX530 VCR+DVD Recorder. "

 

sj-

Do know that DVD is standard def (480i/p) in a letterbox (16:9) perspective, this is much different from true HD which is 1080i/p.

 

DVD = SD

BluRay = HD

 

Why not record your programs in Standard Def?

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-19-2011

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 36 of 38
(2,746 Views)

@ToddSimons wrote:

"I am able to easily fit 12 1/2-hr tv episodes on a single 4.7g DVD-RW, in VR mode on my older sony RDR-VX530 VCR+DVD Recorder. "

 

sj-

Do know that DVD is standard def (480i/p) in a letterbox (16:9) perspective, this is much different from true HD which is 1080i/p.

 

DVD = SD

BluRay = HD

 

Why not record your programs in Standard Def?

 


I am well aware of the difference between HD v. SD, as well as DVD v. BD

 

Never once said in my post that I  was  recording in HD.  That wouldn't be possible on a DVD, nor when recording SD programming.  I was responding to another poster who observed they were only able to record a couple hours on a DVD.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎12-11-2009

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 37 of 38
(2,716 Views)

sj- sorry, I didn't see the previous threads

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,000
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: VIOS DVR CAPACITY

Message 38 of 38
(2,660 Views)

Just went thru replacing the DVR ... my wife had about 10 hours of programming that she wanted to keep, so it was a busy weekend recording them onto DVD/RW with my DVD recorder before we could swap the box out.  

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.