×

Switch Account

VMS1100 Audio Dropouts

VMS1100 Audio Dropouts

Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2017
Message 1 of 5
(2,011 Views)

I had FIOS installed in July 2015. The whole time,  I have been experiencing fairly frequent (every 2-5 minutes) audio dropouts of approximately 1 second when viewing TV through the VMS1100 DVR. I have seen this behavior in live as well as recorded programming, though it  seems that the issue does not recur at the same point in a recording if I rewind and replay. Some programs, such as live sports, seem to display the problem more commonly.

 

The audio is connected to a Yamaha audio receiver, and I have tried using both HDMI and, currently, optical digital output from the VMS1100. I do not have similar problems when using other devices connected via HDMI to the Yamaha receiver.

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-21-2016
Message 2 of 5
(1,963 Views)

We had FiOS set up about 3 weeks ago now with the VMS 1100 also. I've noticed the intermittent but frequent drop outs also. It's very short, maybe even less than a second. I could almost believe I imagined it if it didn't occur so frequently. 

 

It's interesting that you mention Yamaha. I have the tv connected by optical cable to a Yamaha sound bar and the DVR connected to my Sony tv by HDMI. I also have an Apple TV connected to the tv but never notice any audio issues with the Yamaha. It seems to occur more so with certain networks. So it may be more of a network issue than a local equipment issue. 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,784
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 3 of 5
(1,960 Views)

Have you tried, as the previous user noted, to go direct HDMI to TV.

Then, if TV has an optical out, go from TV to soundbar?

Should work the other way, but this may be a sutiable workaround.

I have a Samsung soundbar and hooked it up this way because soundbar only has 1 HDMI input. So to get sound on all devices connected to TV, I had to do it that way.

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-19-2017
Message 4 of 5
(1,900 Views)

I'm having the same issue with a new AVR. Was this ever resolved? How so? Thanks! 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-24-2017
Message 5 of 5
(1,696 Views)

I have been experiencing the same issue - audio dropout on the Arris DVR box installed Dec 2016.  Had Optimum for years and no issues...SMH 

Set up I have several HDMI AV sources routed through a Denon AVR which is connected to my TV via HDMI.  The drop outs are intermittent (on the Fios box only) and seem to be on network TV (channel 2,4,7 etc.) but i have experienced it on other channels as well.  I don't believe it has happened on premium channels - HBO, Showtime etc.  

Its definitely an STB issue, however is it related to the broadcast as well? 

Any constructive feedback or solutions appreciated.  

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.