Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

VMS1100 stopped responding to OK button

SOLVED
Reply
eamck
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2021

VMS1100 stopped responding to OK button

Message 1 of 7
(676 Views)

Just last night, our STB (VMS1100) stopped responding to the OK button on the remote.  We have the original Fios remote and also a Logitech Harmony One, and the same thing happens when pressing OK on either remote:  The STB red light blinks, indicating it has received the command, but then the STB never performs the OK action appropriate to the context.

 

Rebooting the STB doesn't fix the problem.  Also, my husband mentioned that when he rebooted the box he briefly saw "d01 E00" on the STB display.

I have seen other threads in this forum on the topic, but they are all pretty old.  Has anyone else had this trouble lately?

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,467
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: VMS1100 stopped responding to OK button

Message 2 of 7
(675 Views)

@eamck wrote:

Just last night, our STB (VMS1100) stopped responding to the OK button on the remote.  We have the original Fios remote and also a Logitech Harmony One, and the same thing happens when pressing OK on either remote:  The STB red light blinks, indicating it has received the command, but then the STB never performs the OK action appropriate to the context.

 

Rebooting the STB doesn't fix the problem.  Also, my husband mentioned that when he rebooted the box he briefly saw "d01 E00" on the STB display.

I have seen other threads in this forum on the topic, but they are all pretty old.  Has anyone else had this trouble lately?

 


Did he simply use the menu to reboot or did you unplug the power for 3 minutes or so, then plug it back in? Any new dimmable or fluorescent lights in the room?

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,467
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: VMS1100 stopped responding to OK button

Message 2 of 7
(676 Views)

@eamck wrote:

Just last night, our STB (VMS1100) stopped responding to the OK button on the remote.  We have the original Fios remote and also a Logitech Harmony One, and the same thing happens when pressing OK on either remote:  The STB red light blinks, indicating it has received the command, but then the STB never performs the OK action appropriate to the context.

 

Rebooting the STB doesn't fix the problem.  Also, my husband mentioned that when he rebooted the box he briefly saw "d01 E00" on the STB display.

I have seen other threads in this forum on the topic, but they are all pretty old.  Has anyone else had this trouble lately?

 


Did he simply use the menu to reboot or did you unplug the power for 3 minutes or so, then plug it back in? Any new dimmable or fluorescent lights in the room?

View solution in original post

eamck
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2021

whiteryder

Message 3 of 7
(656 Views)

No new lights in the room, but that's an interesting question I hadn't thought of!

He says he did not leave it off for 3 minutes, more like 15-20 seconds.  We will try leaving it off for longer and see if that helps.

Thanks!

clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,467
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: whiteryder

Message 4 of 7
(573 Views)

@eamck wrote:

No new lights in the room, but that's an interesting question I hadn't thought of!

He says he did not leave it off for 3 minutes, more like 15-20 seconds.  We will try leaving it off for longer and see if that helps.

Thanks!


Not just turning it off, but unplugging the power. Turning it off won't do much of anything.

eamck
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2021

Re: VMS1100 stopped responding to OK button

Message 5 of 7
(558 Views)

Understood. He's been unplugging it each time.

 

This time, though, he left it off a lot longer - guess some caps have to discharge or some such? And lo and behold, everything works now!  Much rejoicing.  🙂

 

So I guess we had the right strategy, just needed to do it more thoroughly. 

Thanks for your time! 

clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,467
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: VMS1100 stopped responding to OK button

Message 6 of 7
(516 Views)

@eamck wrote:

Understood. He's been unplugging it each time.

 

This time, though, he left it off a lot longer - guess some caps have to discharge or some such? And lo and behold, everything works now!  Much rejoicing.  🙂

 

So I guess we had the right strategy, just needed to do it more thoroughly. 

Thanks for your time! 


You hit the nail on the head. Several parts store a charge and you have to give them time to discharge before plugging back in. Glad you got it!

 

MwanaLesa
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-28-2021

Re: VMS1100 stopped responding to OK button

Message 7 of 7
(159 Views)

This just happened to me last night!  (Today is March 28, 2021.) What I realized was that there was an item sitting on top of my set top box that I had moved around yesterday and it was pressing a button on the top of the set top box that made the OK button not work at all.  (It was a very small DVD player. Don’t judge me for still having one. 😊) I pushed it all the way to the back of the set top box and miraculously it fixed the problem. 

I just wanted to share this solution as well just in case it helps someone else with this problem in 2027. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.