Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

VMS4100: does it support outputting in Dolby Vision or only up to 4K HDR10?

SOLVED
Reply
Dualmonitors2
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-06-2021

VMS4100: does it support outputting in Dolby Vision or only up to 4K HDR10?

Message 1 of 4
(588 Views)

i recently upgraded to the Verizon Fios One VMS4100 "server" DVR.

 

on my new Sony tv, there is a choice of either choosing inputs having HDR10 or one step higher is Dolby Vision.

 

however, when i select Dolby Vision, the Verizon VMS4100 produces only a black screen on my Sony tv.

 

may i ask if the VMS 4100 ONLY outputs up to 4K HDR10 and doesn't go as high up as 4K Dolby Vision?

 

where would i find this information please?  i can't find it anywhere.

 

thank you all in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
clem53
Gold Contributor IV Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,690
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: VMS4100: does it support outputting in Dolby Vision or only up to 4K HDR10?

Message 4 of 4
(463 Views)

@Dualmonitors2 wrote:

thank you @clem53.

 

a follow up question please:

 

in the HDMI input options area of the Sony TV, what selection would you make please?  

 

there are 3 options:

 

1)  the lowest option (forgot the name)

 

2) Enhanced

 

3) Enhanced Dolby Vision

 

when i chose option 3, "Enhanced Dolby Vision", the Verizon Fios TV One dvr box would not display - i only got a black screen.  so, i was forced to downgrade to option 2, "Enhanced".

 

since my Sony TV is as current as can be (A80J), a 2021 model, it feels odd to be forced to downgrade its HDMI input in order to allow the Verizon VMS4100 dvr to display!  this downgrade includes forcing my Roku Ultra to be downgraded too, since all my sources (Verizon VMS4100, Roku Ultra, and an old Sony Bluray) go into a Denon 4700 first, and then the Denon outputs to a single TV.

 

why do you think please that when i chose "Enhanced Dolby Vision" on my Sony tv's HDMI Port 3 input, it only would display a black screen?

 

thank you in advance.


When you choose Dolby Vision, the TV is looking for that format on the input. The Fios box can't output DV so you get the black screen. Enhanced should still give you HDR10 and HLG which the Fios box is capable of outputting. You may have to switch to Dolby Vision in the TV settings when watching Dolby Vision from your other sources. Check whether the Enhanced setting will still correctly pass a DV signal first though. On my slightly older Sony it WILL. Check this out for recommended settings: https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sony/a80j-oled/settings

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
clem53
Gold Contributor IV Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,690
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: VMS4100: does it support outputting in Dolby Vision or only up to 4K HDR10?

Message 2 of 4
(550 Views)

@Dualmonitors2 wrote:

i recently upgraded to the Verizon Fios One VMS4100 "server" DVR.

 

on my new Sony tv, there is a choice of either choosing inputs having HDR10 or one step higher is Dolby Vision.

 

however, when i select Dolby Vision, the Verizon VMS4100 produces only a black screen on my Sony tv.

 

may i ask if the VMS 4100 ONLY outputs up to 4K HDR10 and doesn't go as high up as 4K Dolby Vision?

 

where would i find this information please?  i can't find it anywhere.

 

thank you all in advance.


I believe the VMS 1100 can output HDR10 4K and HLG 4K, but not Dolby Vision. Set the input you use for the Fios box to Auto in the Sony Picture Adjustments>Advanced Options> Video Options>HDR menu and you shouldn't have any problems. I have all 3 options there set to Auto and it works great.

 

 

 

 

 

Dualmonitors2
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-06-2021

Re: VMS4100: does it support outputting in Dolby Vision or only up to 4K HDR10?

Message 3 of 4
(542 Views)

thank you @clem53.

 

a follow up question please:

 

in the HDMI input options area of the Sony TV, what selection would you make please?  

 

there are 3 options:

 

1)  the lowest option (forgot the name)

 

2) Enhanced

 

3) Enhanced Dolby Vision

 

when i chose option 3, "Enhanced Dolby Vision", the Verizon Fios TV One dvr box would not display - i only got a black screen.  so, i was forced to downgrade to option 2, "Enhanced".

 

since my Sony TV is as current as can be (A80J), a 2021 model, it feels odd to be forced to downgrade its HDMI input in order to allow the Verizon VMS4100 dvr to display!  this downgrade includes forcing my Roku Ultra to be downgraded too, since all my sources (Verizon VMS4100, Roku Ultra, and an old Sony Bluray) go into a Denon 4700 first, and then the Denon outputs to a single TV.

 

why do you think please that when i chose "Enhanced Dolby Vision" on my Sony tv's HDMI Port 3 input, it only would display a black screen?

 

thank you in advance.

clem53
Gold Contributor IV Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,690
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: VMS4100: does it support outputting in Dolby Vision or only up to 4K HDR10?

Message 4 of 4
(464 Views)

@Dualmonitors2 wrote:

thank you @clem53.

 

a follow up question please:

 

in the HDMI input options area of the Sony TV, what selection would you make please?  

 

there are 3 options:

 

1)  the lowest option (forgot the name)

 

2) Enhanced

 

3) Enhanced Dolby Vision

 

when i chose option 3, "Enhanced Dolby Vision", the Verizon Fios TV One dvr box would not display - i only got a black screen.  so, i was forced to downgrade to option 2, "Enhanced".

 

since my Sony TV is as current as can be (A80J), a 2021 model, it feels odd to be forced to downgrade its HDMI input in order to allow the Verizon VMS4100 dvr to display!  this downgrade includes forcing my Roku Ultra to be downgraded too, since all my sources (Verizon VMS4100, Roku Ultra, and an old Sony Bluray) go into a Denon 4700 first, and then the Denon outputs to a single TV.

 

why do you think please that when i chose "Enhanced Dolby Vision" on my Sony tv's HDMI Port 3 input, it only would display a black screen?

 

thank you in advance.


When you choose Dolby Vision, the TV is looking for that format on the input. The Fios box can't output DV so you get the black screen. Enhanced should still give you HDR10 and HLG which the Fios box is capable of outputting. You may have to switch to Dolby Vision in the TV settings when watching Dolby Vision from your other sources. Check whether the Enhanced setting will still correctly pass a DV signal first though. On my slightly older Sony it WILL. Check this out for recommended settings: https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sony/a80j-oled/settings

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title