VOD resume play useless

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-27-2012

VOD resume play useless

Message 1 of 27
(2,668 Views)
The issue I'm having is with video on demands "resume play". When we stop a program part of the way through, and try to attempt to go back and watch the rest of it, it starts it over from the beginning most of the time. Every once in a while it will remember where we last stopped watching and resumes play correctly, but most of the time it does not. This is very annoying when we're watching a VOD show on a program that does not allow fast forwarding because we are forced to either start over and rewatch the whole show or just not waste our time with it any longer. Please fix this issue as it has become a major annoyance with our service with Verizon..
26 REPLIES 26
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,220
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 2 of 27
(2,642 Views)

Sorry about the resume function. To fix the press menu, then go to CUSTOMER SUPPORT, then IN HOME AGENT, then SET TOP BOX AUTO CORRECTION.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 3 of 27
(2,634 Views)

Anthony, that is not going to fix it. This is a known problem right now with VOD

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 4 of 27
(2,609 Views)
we are having the same problem, very frustrating. also, when resuming an HD movie that had previously displayed correctly bars now appear om the sides of our screen.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-11-2012

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 5 of 27
(2,543 Views)

yes, this is a problem with me too.  Looks like it has been a problem for a year if you search through the forum.  Seems like they would have a solution by now.  Bummer that you have to restart everything from the beginning - and really bad that this has been a problem for a year, and still there is no solution.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-14-2009

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 6 of 27
(2,493 Views)

I guess VZN doesn't train their technicians very well -- they have shipped me new boxes for the issue!  Then, I call back tonight, since I still had the problem with the new box, and they told me that it is a known problem. 

 

The tech told me that it was to be fixed in the next release of the 'interactive media guide"?  Does anyone know when the next release is coming?

 

I recommend that people call customer service for a monetary credit.  Maybe if enough $$ are paid out, we will get the fix faster.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 7 of 27
(2,480 Views)

I am boycotting VOD until the system is fixed. I lost a paid-for movie at the halfway point when I took an intermission and the system timed out. I searched in vain every menu for some "resume play" option. I discovered "My Library" had the movie in Flex View, but only Standard Def ( not acceptable). I attempted the purchase page hoping for a "resume" option, but no - and I didn't do a re-purchase because I don't trust VZ to get it right. I called Billing to get a credit. I know that the recent VZ partnership with Redbox means that VZ hopes to make VOD an expanded feature which as accessed frequently by customers. Well, that isn't going to happen if the VOD system is unreliable.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2012

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 8 of 27
(2,324 Views)
I have this same problem and it is VERY annoying when watching a TV show when all the shows I watch won't let you fast forward so if I stop the show I have to re-watch it all the way up to the point I left off at. Also if you pause the show for a couple mins to use the bathroom it times out and then... Same thing, I have to watch the show from the beginning again! This needs to be resolved!
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 9 of 27
(2,309 Views)

I have always disliked the term "VOD" because it really isn't. It is more like "what is on the menu". Just like a restaurant, you only get to choose what is on the menu, not anything at anytime. For a truer VOD experience, and one that is technically more reliable than the poor implementation of VZ, I have begun to use my laptop to stream to my TV, and I have purchased a ROKU device as well. Both provide a very satisfying experience with surprisingly good picture quality, even for standard definition fare. High definition is available depending on content and the provider. I have not yet gotten a subscription to Netflix or Hulu Plus, but they have a lot of HD material. There is a lot to choose from many providers that is free, and the ROKU people are partnering with both free and subscription providers. As an Amazon Prime member, I also get a lot of free movies and TV shows from that source. This is a whole new adventure in entertainment options, with lots of choices and a level of satisfaction not provided by VZ. I am not affiliated with Amazon or ROKU other than as a client.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-17-2009

Re: VOD resume play useless

Message 10 of 27
(2,261 Views)

I'm having the same problem over and over and over again due to a VOD program I'm watching is stopping half way through the hour program causing me to start again from the beginning. I've had to do this 4 times tonight even after resetting the control box.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.