VOD slow/unresponsive
jmcohen231
Contributor - Level 3

just curious if anyone else is frustrated with the slowness and unresponsiveness of the VOD.  about 75% of the time when I try to select a VOD (either paid or free), the box freezes up for at least 60 seconds, sometimes for as long as 5 minutes, and the only button that will work is the power-off button.  this is very frustrating and should not occur in our world of technology.  I rarely experienced this issue with Comcast.

please tell me that Verizon is making this issue their top priority to fix with their next update (hopefully soon).  I'm sure that this topic has been covered several times on this forum, so if a Verizon rep can at least address it, then please make it a sticky.

Message Edited by jmcohen23 on 08-11-2009 08:12 AM
0 Likes
Re: VOD slow/unresponsive
VZ_JoeD
Contributor - Level 1
Hello.  I am a FiosTech support agent.  I have a suggestion that should help your VOD be more responsive.  Send me a message and I will be more than happy to assist you.
0 Likes
VZ_JoeD
Contributor - Level 1

This delay is known by Verizon and is being worked. It has to do with the database access. Right now when you enter into the selection it has to load the entire database, not just the part you are looking into. It is better than it used to be before it was condensed into a zip style, back when it had to load an unabridged file. But they are still working on getting it more condensed and compartmentalized so that it will only have to load the small part that you are actually looking into. Its getting better but not all the way there yet.

There is a setting in the Actiontec router that may help us out.  Wont know for sure until we try.  I have had success at times with this depending on the actual issue at hand.  Shoot me a message and I can walk you through the router settings.

Message Edited by FIOSTechJoe on 08-11-2009 09:09 AM
0 Likes
Justin46
Legend

FIOSTechJoe,