×

Switch Account

Verizon FIOS and DVR very slow and unnecessarily cumbersome compared to AT&T Uverse

Verizon FIOS and DVR very slow and unnecessarily cumbersome compared to AT&T Uverse

Reply
Contributor mike14822
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-05-2015

I had to switch from AT&T Uverse to Verizon FIOS 2 years ago when I moved. Uverse had the most user friendly service (you could actually reach and talk to someone in customer service). Verizon has the most customer unfriendly DVR and I got the best that V has to offer. Examples:

1) Fast forward/backward is way too slow with 8X max. In comparison, Uverse went 64X or faster 2 yrs. ago

2) With Uverse you could use the LAST button to go back and forth between  watching a Live Channel and a recorded program. With Verizon, when switching back from the Live Channel to DVR you have to repeat the cumbersome process of searching for the recorded program and select it very time.

3) With Uverse, you were able to go to any of the other rooms and pick up where you left in the other room, whether you watched live or recorded program. Not with Verizon

4) Aside from that I have never worked with a customer service organization that has been practically unreachable once I signed up. I have yet to find someone to talk to. I don't think they care. With Uverse, I had a phone# to call and someone would pick up almost right away. Unfortunately, Uverse is not available where I live now.

5) When I turn on FIOS, I first see commercials that I have to click out of the way before I can get to select the channel I want to watch. I find that very annoying. 

 

I wish I could say something positive about Verizon FIOS but I can't. 

5 REPLIES 5
Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎10-18-2010
Message 2 of 6
(769 Views)
Couple of things about your post:

 

1) Fast forward/backward is way too slow with 8X max. In comparison, Uverse went 64X or faster 2 yrs. ago AGREED, it is slow

2) With Uverse you could use the LAST button to go back and forth between  watching a Live Channel and a recorded program. With Verizon, when switching back from the Live Channel to DVR you have to repeat the cumbersome process of searching for the recorded program and select it very time. You are incorrect, the LAST button does indeed work, in fact I was doing this exact thing last night watching a live show and a DVR'd show.

3) With Uverse, you were able to go to any of the other rooms and pick up where you left in the other room, whether you watched live or recorded program. Not with Verizon Again incorrect, if you have the Multi-room DVR package you can resume watching a recorded show in a different room from the point you stopped watching. I do this repeatedly.

4) Aside from that I have never worked with a customer service organization that has been practically unreachable once I signed up. I have yet to find someone to talk to. I don't think they care. With Uverse, I had a phone# to call and someone would pick up almost right away. Unfortunately, Uverse is not available where I live now.  Can't defend the Verizon Customer Service, I'm not crazy about it either.

5) When I turn on FIOS, I first see commercials that I have to click out of the way before I can get to select the channel I want to watch. I find that very annoying. I have never ever experienced this, not sure what you mean.

 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

He didn't say what model STB he has.

Last button does not toggle back and forth between live and DVR on Quantum.

Quantum also supports pausing in one room and resuming on another. Even for live shows (MRDVR would only do that for recorded content).

Sounds like he doesn't have the home page disabled.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎10-18-2010

Rob,

 

Good point, I do not have Quantum nor will I ever upgrade voluntarily. Absolutely nothing about the upgrade appeals to me, including the higher costs. With the old multiroom DVR I can do what the OP was pointing out, I guess Quantum isn't the step forward Verizon claims,

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Two biggest differences between STB and Quantum is that with Quantum you have:

Up to 6 tuners to support recording (based on number of channels watching live TV)

Every box can pause and rew live TV.

If neither is a requirement, yes no reason to upgrade.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Speed is not actually 8x.  JUst timed it and about 2 minutes to go through an hour show.  So about 30x.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.