Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 21 of 36
(4,927 Views)

If you look at my original post in this thread, the FiOS Twitter rep said there would not likely be a beta.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-22-2009

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 22 of 36
(4,914 Views)

I think people are so hungry for more space that they are acting irrationally. Don't expect people to be reasonable about something so desirable as a less-small hard drive for their DVR.

 

Think about this. Verizon is not being logical about using 320GB. It is still tiny in comparison to where technology is. The 2TB (2000GB) size will soon cost about $100. Perhaps the only reason Verizon is using the 320GB size is because it is the smallest-capacity that is available in the desktop size. Perhaps manufacturers are discontinuing the 160GB size, forcing Verizon to switch to 320GB. I see no logic in changing to 320GB except to intentionaly provide the least amount of space as possible. Is there any other logical explanation?

 

There is probably more to the story that Verizon is not telling us. It really should not be necessary to test a change from 160GB to 320GB; that should not require a lot of testing. And you know that Verizon does not test as extensively as they should. So if there is much testing going on, then there is a lot more than just 320GB. If the switch to 320GB from 160GB is the only change, then it makes sense to me taht they do not need to go through beta testing.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 23 of 36
(4,907 Views)

The 160gb drives are already out of production at most HDD makers, and the 320mb's may be history by this time next year, so the 320gb decision doesn't appear to be a very good decision. 

 

As others have pointed out, there is very little difference in cost between a 160gb and a 500gb at this point.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-15-2010

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 24 of 36
(4,806 Views)

Hmmm... I see the locals channels listed under HD yet the resolution is not real HD on most of the channels.  I am looking at the channels now and they are definitely not the same as full HD.  they look weird.  some channels are better than others.  and those that show a better HD picture sometimes the commercials get switched to 4:3 low resolution.. Just weird.  not used to seeing that.

 

I think you should test the Dish network HD and you will see what I mean... its night and day... currently not fully satisfied...  going to give it a few more days.

 

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 25 of 36
(4,736 Views)

jmercado567 - that's because some of that station's programs and/or commercials aren't filmed/created in HD. So it doesn't matter if you have DirecTV, Verizon, Comcast, or Dish Network - if the program or commercial isn't filmed in HD to begin with, then it's not going to be in HD, even if it's on an "HD" channel.

 

For example, your local Fox affiliate may have shows such as 24 and American Idol in HD, as well as major commercials like one for Toyota or Best Buy. But that same station may have a sitcom playing from the 1990s that isn't HD, or a commercial from Joe's Shop down the street which wasn't filmed in HD. Thus they will display in 4:3 SD because that's how they were created.

 

That has nothing to do with Verizon or Dish. That's up to the individual station and the creators of each program/commercial.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-24-2010

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 26 of 36
(4,629 Views)

Verizon doesn't directly pay for the hard drives, they pay motorola for the boxes, whoi has already payed for the hard drives. Motorola can charge verizon more for 500gb than 320gb, even though market price is equivalent.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎11-02-2008

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 27 of 36
(4,537 Views)

I would be happy with a 500 gig hd. Would I like more....yes. But I agree that a 320 is way too small at this point. By the time they roll them out they are on the back end of the tech curve. The best thing would (if they could) to open up the port so we could connect our own hard drives. It would would cost them the least in the long run. Keep the dvrs we have now and open the PORT!!!

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-11-2010

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 28 of 36
(4,533 Views)

 


@vinnyv07 wrote:

I would be happy with a 500 gig hd. Would I like more....yes. But I agree that a 320 is way too small at this point. By the time they roll them out they are on the back end of the tech curve. The best thing would (if they could) to open up the port so we could connect our own hard drives. It would would cost them the least in the long run. Keep the dvrs we have now and open the PORT!!!


Or just make it so that we can rip the hard drive out, plug in one of ours and it'll properly format and use all the space. Although obviously they won't advertise/condone this lol.

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 29 of 36
(4,454 Views)

 


@nXt wrote:

 


@vinnyv07 wrote:

I would be happy with a 500 gig hd. Would I like more....yes. But I agree that a 320 is way too small at this point. By the time they roll them out they are on the back end of the tech curve. The best thing would (if they could) to open up the port so we could connect our own hard drives. It would would cost them the least in the long run. Keep the dvrs we have now and open the PORT!!!


Or just make it so that we can rip the hard drive out, plug in one of ours and it'll properly format and use all the space. Although obviously they won't advertise/condone this lol.

 


 

The partition size is set up in the firmware in the box. It has been tried and will not work. DO NOT open the DVR, because tampering with the internals, or damaged hardware can be very expensive for the customer. IE: The full retail price of the DVR. Also if it were able to recongnize the new drive, you would not have the required software image on the newly installed drive. I have heard of someone trying to copy the drive image from one drive to another and it did not work.

 

On my Tivo I was able to upgrade the drive because I purchased the DVR and the software image is available to be loaded onto the new drive prior to installation. But DO NOT TAMPER WITH THE VERIZON HARDWARE.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: Verizon begins testing Motorola QIP 7232 with 320GB HD

Message 30 of 36
(4,445 Views)

I wonder just what they're testing? The old boxes are Motorola, the new boxes are Motorola. When Motorla released the "P2" models, what changed under the covers?

 

The only difference I have noticed from the 7216 and the 7232P2 (in the spec sheets) are:

 

Memory (RAM/Flash) went from 256/32 to 512/64.

Graphic Resolution went from up to "720x480" to "up to1920x1080".

HDD from 160GB to 320GB

Power Dissapation went  from 35 W to 25W

Weight went from 10 lbs. to 8 lbs.

 

Does anyone know what the SoCs are for the 7216 and the 7232? Was it that much different?

 

Well, looks like I let the tech guy out for a bit!!!! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.