Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Very slow channel change - intermittant

SOLVED
Reply
FromPA
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-26-2012

Random Picture Blackout & Channel Change Delay Issue

Message 91 of 314
(5,355 Views)

About four weeks ago I noticed that channel changes executed from the channel menu were very slow and often would freeze.  This seems to happen most often when I first power-up the Verizon Fios Motorola HD/DVR STB box.  Another problem that developed around the same time was random blackouts of the TV picture.  These blackouts are random and last, typcially, from 1 to 5 seconds or so.  I've reset the box and utilized the auto-correct feature on the In Home Agent multiple times and it's not taken care of either problem.  The onset of these problems seems to correlate with the last Verizon FIOS firmware update.  I'd appreciate hearing from others with similiar issues.

blueribb
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎07-30-2011

Re: Random Picture Blackout & Channel Change Delay Issue

Message 92 of 314
(5,319 Views)

Now that you brought it up, I seem to remember some HD channels going black and having to switch to their SD counterparts to finish watching my show. I think this was about 1-2 months ago but I'm not sure. Today, my HD DVR froze when I pressed the guide button and I had to wait almost a minute to regain control of the box. All remote presses during the freeze made the box LED blink. After the freeze, all the remote commands started. This is getting more annoying every day. Come on Verizon.........

KidHorn
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎08-23-2012

Re: Random Picture Blackout & Channel Change Delay Issue

Message 93 of 314
(5,260 Views)

For the last 2 days, my DVR has been much more responsive. Not a single delay. During the week, I only get an hour or so to watch TV each night, so this isn't a large sampling. Maybe Verizon did something?

 

Since Verizon doesn't communicate, I guess i'll never know.

armond_in_nj
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: Random Picture Blackout & Channel Change Delay Issue

Message 94 of 314
(5,242 Views)

@KidHorn wrote:

 ... Since Verizon doesn't communicate, I guess i'll never know.


Agreed.  A "we're working on it" blurb would be sufficient.  C'mon VZ, we know ya kin do it.

nysnowbird92
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-10-2012

Re: Latency problems with STB

Message 95 of 314
(5,198 Views)

the response i got in regard to my having SD boxes that aren't up to date enough to handle the new system

 

'The fact that you have SD is not the problem. We have numerous customers with those 2500 boxes who do not have this problem. I personally have three 2500's and do not have this problem. The technical specs on the boxes are the same. The HD boxes are not faster than the non HD boxes. They have the same amount of processing power and memory.'

 

so they're going to send 'another stronger command' to my boxes and see what happens.. but it's odd that all 3 boxes in my home act the same way with the guide.. yet others with the 2500s have no trouble at all..  this doesn't sound like a box problem..  maybe the router?  I have no trouble with the speed of the router.. we have 20mbps (though it's testing at 10mbps right now for some reason)..  it's just in communicating the guide (plus v.o.d. and searching) and making it respond as quickly as it should...

m0nd0
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-15-2012

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 96 of 314
(5,159 Views)

I have the same problem! Set top box QIP7232-p

Aelfwine
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-15-2012

Re: Random Picture Blackout & Channel Change Delay Issue

Message 97 of 314
(5,135 Views)

I have exactly the same problem here, and it started within the past month. On first power-up each day, and for some time after, choosing a channel to change to from the guide will cause the DVR to become unresponsive for about 1 minute, and then the channel finally changes and the DVR becomes responsive again.

nysnowbird92
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-10-2012

Re: Latency problems with STB

Message 98 of 314
(5,053 Views)

they sent the 'stonger command' to my box.. reset it.. and it still didn't change.. they're all still slow as hell..   so given that the verizon employee with three 2500 boxes just like mine has no trouble with his.. and i have trouble with all 3 of mine, what does this say?  somehow their guide and navigation isn't getting to my home in the same way.

ornahp
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2,247
Registered: ‎03-10-2011

Re: Latency problems with STB

Message 99 of 314
(5,048 Views)

please refer to your original support case and let the verizon employees know that you are still having an issue.  

 


@nysnowbird92 wrote:

they sent the 'stonger command' to my box.. reset it.. and it still didn't change.. they're all still slow as hell..   so given that the verizon employee with three 2500 boxes just like mine has no trouble with his.. and i have trouble with all 3 of mine, what does this say?  somehow their guide and navigation isn't getting to my home in the same way.




Photoflash
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-28-2008

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 100 of 314
(4,982 Views)
I have two 7232 DVRs, and each one locks up for about a minute when I'm trying to change the channel.

This problem started just recently, and I have had one 7232 for many months, and it's been working fine. Until now.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.