×

Switch Account

Video On Demand content?

Video On Demand content?

Reply
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 1 of 11
(6,854 Views)

So I was bringing up VOD last night to see what was available and was pleased to see that they have expanded the HD content for ABC, CBS, and NBC.  Went into ABC-HD and started to watch some Lost, but to my dismay, a message stated that I would not be able to FF, REW, or Pause this content.  Only thing I could do was to hit Stop or Exit.

 

What on earth is up with that???

 

The picture looked outstanding.  Only a slight amount of artifacts detected in scenes with fast moving objects or panning.  But I'm seriously disappointed that I cannot FF/REW/Pause with some of the content available.  I noticed this feature was unavailable for other shows as well.  This was a major bummer.

 

Any ideas why they do this?

10 REPLIES 10
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 2 of 11
(6,847 Views)
Yeah, some of these network channels are requiring that the VOD controls be disabled on their VOD assets.  Why? $$$ to their sponsors of course.  I can't think of any other reason. 
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 3 of 11
(6,834 Views)

But why disable the PAUSE button?  If they want to force us to watch certain commercials, then fine.... but the pause button does not affect this.  Disabling these simple features makes VOD look much worse than it already is.  Would you agree?

 

I really hope Verizon is listening.  I'm happy they finally added some more useful HD content to their VOD library, but try not to cripple what decent stuff you have out there.  Happy customers make for longtime subscribers.  Don't frustrate us even more to the point of jumping ship to another company... please!

Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 4 of 11
(6,828 Views)

I agree with you totally. I'm not sure if the quality is any worst though, I was watching The Unit on vod on sunday and DID notice the quality not being as good as if I was watching LIVE.

Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 5 of 11
(6,797 Views)

@CSimpson wrote:

 

I really hope Verizon is listening.  I'm happy they finally added some more useful HD content to their VOD library, but try not to cripple what decent stuff you have out there.  Happy customers make for longtime subscribers.  Don't frustrate us even more to the point of jumping ship to another company... please!


Over time, you'll see more and more content available via VOD, albeit with limitations on trickplay functions like FF.

 

A number of content providers would like to see consumer DVR solutions supplanted with quasi VOD / network DVR solutions, because this gives them control over what the customer can do (i.e. no more skipping commercials). Content providers can't control how their content is seen or used with dedicated DVR in the home, but they do have that control with VOD and "network" DVRs, because they set the terms and conditions under which the content is offered.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎04-18-2009
Message 6 of 11
(6,534 Views)

Re: Video On Demand content? Options CharlesH Employee Posts: 650 Registered: 12-01-2008 Philadelphia, PA Device: LG Dare Plan: 20 over 5 Message 2 of 5 Viewed 310 times

 

 

"Yeah, some of these network channels are requiring that the VOD controls be disabled on their VOD assets. Why? $$$ to their sponsors of course. I can't think of any other reason."

 

 

 Charles Verizon Telecom Fiber Solution Center

 

Then why does COMCAST still allow the functions on VOD programs (FF, RW, Pause)?     PAUSE is essential at the least......

 

 

Bob

Message Edited by nuttyirishman on 05-28-2009 09:28 AM
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 7 of 11
(6,520 Views)

@nuttyirishman wrote:

 

Then why does COMCAST still allow the functions on VOD programs (FF, RW, Pause)?     PAUSE is essential at the least......


Comcast has the same restrictions on the same programs.  Verizon does not have those restrictions on many (most) programs, just like Comcast does not have those restrictions on many (most) of its VOD programs.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎05-21-2009
Message 8 of 11
(6,518 Views)

there are mutiple articles/blogs/posts about this stuff... Google is your friend

 

Here are a few http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r22071676-NBC-following-ABCs-lead

http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2008-02/advertisers-strike-back/

http://www.techdirt.com/articles/20080517/1713341152.shtml

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bob Robertson - Lighter Klepto - I steal lighters, not bandwith
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 9 of 11
(6,514 Views)
As the others have posted, Comcast has the same restrictions on the same VOD assets...
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎05-21-2009
Message 10 of 11
(6,510 Views)

@CharlesH wrote:
As the others have posted, Comcast has the same restrictions on the same VOD assets...
Way to contribute, champ.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.