quick menu

Viewing Certain Channels Black bar above and below viewing

Viewing Certain Channels Black bar above and below viewing

Reply
Contributor DABS
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-03-2016
Message 1 of 7
(800 Views)

About a month ago all of my channels except the local ones and some of the HD, now have a black band over and above the show I am watching.  I have not changed anything on my HDTV and I tried to get help the the Chat tech folks, but no resolution, not even a suggestion as to why.  Anyone know what I can do, or what has happened and any/all ideals welcome. Thanks

6 REPLIES 6
Gold Contributor II Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 2 of 7
(729 Views)

Do they look streched horizontally?  Are you talking about SD channels (most channels below 500)?

 

Check the aspect (star "*" button).  Also make sure you are set to 720P, 1080i or 1080P as ouput.

 

Note that for certain movies, it is normal to black bars above and below as they are often broadcast with wider to 16x9 aspect ration.  Some SD channels are now broadcast as 16x9 but within a 4x3 ratio (i.e. bars all around if not streched in both directions).

Contributor DABS
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-03-2016
Message 3 of 7
(681 Views)

I only get a "full" view on my TV (no black borders on top or bottom) on local channels. Any and ALL REPEAT ALL other channels SD or HD, or anything else you can think of is a black border on top an bottom. It doesn't matter is if it is ubove the 500 or below. Sometime even the commercials are normal viewing on the channel, meaning no black borders, but the program/movie, etc, still does. If I try to change the TV settings themselves then things get stretched, distorted, etc.  Right now even though the borders are there, the picture is fine, i.e., normal, not stretched horizontal, etc..  I NEVER had this issue until recently and it has to be a Verizon crappy update or something. I have a 43 inch HDTV, using a 16.9 ratio.  So any other suggestions would be welcomed by I don't expect any from Verizon. 

MVP CRobGauth MVP
MVP
Posts: 7,212
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 4 of 7
(669 Views)

This is a peer to peer support forum.

what model stb do you have?

under menu settings audio/video  video format, what do you have?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor DABS
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-03-2016
Message 5 of 7
(632 Views)

It says I have "STB MODEL: 7216"

Video Format 1080i  16:9

 

and I apologize but I am undertain what you mean this is a "peer to peer" support forum?  I am just trying to figure out why all of a sudden, w/o any changes made by me, this happen.  thank you

Contributor Müs
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2019
Message 6 of 7
(306 Views)

Just hit the “#” on your remote. If you look closely it says size. I’m sure you or someone accidentally hit it. Good luck!

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,308
Registered: ‎07-06-2016
Message 7 of 7
(301 Views)

In order to keep discussion on the community current, this topic has been locked to prevent new replies. If you have a similar question or issue that you wish to discuss, then please feel free to post a new message on the most relevant board. Thanks!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.

My Fios App
Fios TV App
Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios