Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2020

Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 1 of 8
(475 Views)

Have Fios TV one hooked up by coax to a 4100 mini box.  Just received the new guide update and now when the TV is turned on the volume is crazy loud and the remote for the TV and the Fios STB do not control the volume.  Nothing works to lower volume, on either remote, not even the mute button. The only way to fix is to reset the STB while the TV is on and when it reboots the volume can be controlled.  The minute you turn the TV and STB off and then on again, volume is wicked loud and uncontrollable with either the STB or TV remote.

 

This guide update has rendered my tv useless.

 

Please help.

 

I have a samsung led tv that was working fine before the update. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2020

Re: Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 6 of 8
(403 Views)

I think that I have fixed the issue.  It was one or both of these things: 

1) I replaced the HDMI cable

2) I upgraded the firmware on the TV

 

The STB can be turned on and off without a change to the volume. 

 

Will report back if there are any issues moving forward.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 2 of 8
(456 Views)

@Marabele wrote:

Have Fios TV one hooked up by coax to a 4100 mini box.  Just received the new guide update and now when the TV is turned on the volume is crazy loud and the remote for the TV and the Fios STB do not control the volume.  Nothing works to lower volume, on either remote, not even the mute button. The only way to fix is to reset the STB while the TV is on and when it reboots the volume can be controlled.  The minute you turn the TV and STB off and then on again, volume is wicked loud and uncontrollable with either the STB or TV remote.

 

This guide update has rendered my tv useless.

 

Please help.

 

I have a samsung led tv that was working fine before the update. 


Try un-pairing and re-pairing the remote to the box. You may have to set up your TV  manually in the voice remote menu.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2020

Re: Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 3 of 8
(427 Views)

I did try re-pairing the remote using automatic pairing and manual by selecting my TV manufacturer.  No change

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 4 of 8
(422 Views)

@Marabele wrote:

I did try re-pairing the remote using automatic pairing and manual by selecting my TV manufacturer.  No change


OK, if the TV remote can't control the volume of the TV you have an issue with the TV. Did it have a recent firmware update ? If you are not using a soundbar or AV receiver, the only thing that controls the volume IS the TV. The Fios box should be set to FIXED output in the audio options menu, it is NOT used to control the volume at all. About the only thing you can do with the Fios box is select Stereo output, or Dolby digital, and the level of compression the box applies to the signal. All the controls are in menu>settings>audio and video>audio. You should check the compression settings in the Fios box and try setting it to light. After that, check all the audio options in the TV, something there is not right like an option for start up volume that has changed.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2020

Re: Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 5 of 8
(402 Views)

The only change has been the upgrade to the TV one STB software.  The TV is not connected and has not had any software updates.  This issue is directly related to the STB as resetting the box will correct the issue until the box is turned off and on again.  While I agree that the TV is the only thing that controls the volume, the STB renders the control useless.  I have the TV connected via HDMI cable and will replace the cable today to see if that does anything but the sound output from the TV is affected by the STB.  There is no pass through or exterior speaker being used.  One HDMI cable from STB to TV.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2020

Re: Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 6 of 8
(404 Views)

I think that I have fixed the issue.  It was one or both of these things: 

1) I replaced the HDMI cable

2) I upgraded the firmware on the TV

 

The STB can be turned on and off without a change to the volume. 

 

Will report back if there are any issues moving forward.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 7 of 8
(317 Views)

@Marabele wrote:

I think that I have fixed the issue.  It was one or both of these things: 

1) I replaced the HDMI cable

2) I upgraded the firmware on the TV

 

The STB can be turned on and off without a change to the volume. 

 

Will report back if there are any issues moving forward.


The thing is the Fios box has a fixed audio output on both optical and HDMI outputs regardless of the setting for volume. That's why I suggested the TV was the issue. The firmware update seemed to fix the issue. I doubt the HDMI cable had any effect.  Hopefully that will be it!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-22-2020

Re: Volume on TV is messed up after October Guide update

Message 8 of 8
(140 Views)

Same problem.  Removed the batteries from the remote, put them back in again, then resynched the remote to the TV.  All is working.  Upgrade did something with 4K?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.