Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

What's on the COAX?

SOLVED
Reply
EJRW
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎04-25-2013

What's on the COAX?

Message 1 of 7
(4,134 Views)

Hello, 

 

Any chance there is ATSC, or even NTSC, signalling on the COAX from the ONT?

 

I'm kinda thinking back to my cable days when a box was only needed for the scrambled channels. 

 

Would like to get the "basic" channels in another room, sans the box.

 

Possible or pipe dream?

 

Thanks, Eric

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,990
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: What's on the COAX?

Message 2 of 7
(4,114 Views)

not directly.

FIOS uses QAM to carry TV signals.

Most are scrambled (you can get local channels that are unscrambled).

So if your definition of basic cable is just your local channels, you are ok.

Want more than that, you need a box of some sort (wither Verizion digitial adapter, STB or cable card device)


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,990
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: What's on the COAX?

Message 2 of 7
(4,115 Views)

not directly.

FIOS uses QAM to carry TV signals.

Most are scrambled (you can get local channels that are unscrambled).

So if your definition of basic cable is just your local channels, you are ok.

Want more than that, you need a box of some sort (wither Verizion digitial adapter, STB or cable card device)


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

EJRW
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎04-25-2013

Re: What's on the COAX?

Message 3 of 7
(4,110 Views)

Thank you. Do you think I would see anything? More importantly, would I hurt anything? If I ever have the parts laying out, I may hook it up just for grins.

 

Eric

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,990
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: What's on the COAX?

Message 4 of 7
(4,108 Views)

If your TV has a QAM tuner, you will see the unsrambled channels.

If it doesn't you won't see anything.

Doubtful it would do any damage.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
EJRW
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎04-25-2013

Re: What's on the COAX?

Message 5 of 7
(4,105 Views)

No QAM tuners in my house. 😞 Got a bunch ot stand-alone ATSC decoders though. 🙂 

 

Thanks again! 

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,990
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: What's on the COAX?

Message 6 of 7
(3,969 Views)

You can probably duplicate the local service that Verizon would supply by hooking an antenna up to the ATSC tuners and hooking them up to your TV.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: What's on the COAX?

Message 7 of 7
(3,872 Views)

Enter a body


@EJRW wrote:

No QAM tuners in my house. 😞 Got a bunch ot stand-alone ATSC decoders though. 🙂 

 

Thanks again! 


A lot of ATSC decoders support digital cable Qam channels.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title