×

Switch Account

What the heck???

Reply
Copper Contributor BassBob
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-28-2008
Message 11 of 19
(10,951 Views)

CSimpson,

 

Thanks for the "at this moment" bottom line paragraph.  After finding another website devoted to VZ FOS TV help:

 

http://www.verizonfioshelp.com/index.php?topic=4.0

 

and considering that we have a Samsung TV, the prospects of making the change just don't look real good right now.

 

I say agin what a terrific site this is - polite, intelligent, well-reasoned responses.  My hat is off to Verizon for hosting it and having guys like Techman monitoring and giving expert advice.  It shows that they really DO care.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 12 of 19
(10,920 Views)

I've got two Samsungs - a 46 in DLP and a 52 inch LCD and both operated flawlessly before I moved to Tivo, so I think it would be in your best interest to give it a try (I believe you have 30 days to test drive) and I believe you'll be more than satisfied. The picture alone will make you a believer! Good luck in any case.

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 13 of 19
(10,908 Views)

B-Bob,

   I hope I didn't frighten you off with the Samsung reference re the HDMI handshake issue - but facts is facts. AVSForums.com can give you some more specific information about all kinds of A/V equipment peculiarities. I had a recent model Samsung (model 850) that is obviously experiencing growing pains too, with firmware tweaks in the pipeline. So, the issues are being addressed. I also think it could be very model specific as many Samsung owners report no problems (my bedroom Samsung works flawlessly, but that's not a DVR hookup just STB). Meanwhile, without sounding like a fanboy, I still think  FIOS is a great value worth a try. Thank you.

Copper Contributor Tireman
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 14 of 19
(10,818 Views)
BassBob you made the right decision in not changing over yet.  You are correct about other Verizon services I have internet and phone also and those work great for me, I haven't had any issues with those services, and honestley I think the picture quality is pretty good.  The reason I'm completely against Fios tv is the crapy DVRs and my experience in getting the issues resolved in a manner that suits me even if a kept the old DVRs for a few extra weeks.
Copper Contributor kb1esx
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 15 of 19
(10,759 Views)

I just switched and wish I didn't.

 

Phone & Internet = No Problem.

DVR = horrible

Service = not good

 

I was told I'd be getting the newer 7216 box but I got the older 6416 box.

 

I'm giving heavy consideration to switching back!

 

David

Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 16 of 19
(10,763 Views)

The Motorola 7216 is just a 6416 with more memory and an updated version of the Broadcom CPU that supports MPEG-4 and VC-1 (for future use).  Aside from a bug in the 6416 software that reduces SD quality, I don't think the average user will notice a difference.  Yes, Verizon is ordering all 7216 with an eSATA port, but it isn't enabled and won't be this year.

 

If a quality, reliable DVR with superior guide data and storage expansion today is important to you, then you can always buy a TivoHD for $199-$249.  The Verizon DVR is just the "free" option; it's not the only option.  See the Is there a TIVO product compatible with FIOS TV ? thread for more information.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Contributor jdlbrown
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
Message 17 of 19
(10,363 Views)

IF YOU HAVE MORE THAT 3 TV'S, YOU HAVE TO GET MORE BOXES - THERE GOES MORE $$$$.  I HAVE 4 TV'S, A DVR ON MY COMPUTER AND A SLINGBOX.  THE ONLY THINGS THAT WORK ARE THE 3 TV'S.  I DIDN'T KNOW YOU HAVE TO HAVE A BOX FOR EACH TV, YOU DIDN'T WITH COMCAST - I HAD ONLY ONE DIGITAL BOX FOR THE LIVING ROOM TV AND JUST CABLE FOR THE OTHERS AND EVERYTHING WORKED FINE,  I SWITCHED OVER TO SAVE AROUND $35.00 A MONTH, BUT NOW THAT I HAVE TO GET AT LEAST 2 MORE BOXES I AM NOT SAVING AS MUCH AS I THOUGHT. Smiley Mad

 

I HAVE HAD VERIZON FOR ABOUT A WEEK (PHONE, INTERNET AND TV) AND HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH ANYTHING EXCEPT THE ABOVE.  THE ONLY THING THAT NEEDS FIXING OTHER THAT THE ABOVE IS THE MEDIA GUIDE, I LIKE COMCASTS BETTER.

Copper Contributor BassBob
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-28-2008
Message 18 of 19
(10,314 Views)

JDL,

 

For what it's worth, the FIOS rep at our mall said we could get a "digital converter box" - about the size of an old radar detector - to watch "certain channels" on analog TV's.  I would need this to feed the PIP input on our TV which at this time is still offered by Comcast.  If that would suffice for some of your TV's that might save you some $.

 

I'm still holding off on making the switch in spite of the $146 monthly Comcast bill which includes HBO/SHO and one HD/DVR STB and another "just digital" STB.  Seems to me there are still too many hassles out there with the FIOS system and wouldn't make the alleged $ saving of the Vz 3-way bundle worth the aggravation.  We use the DVR constantly for time shifting and I can't believe how many people are having issues with the FIOS box DVR's.

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 19 of 19
(10,261 Views)

@BassBob wrote:

JDL,

 

For what it's worth, the FIOS rep at our mall said we could get a "digital converter box" - about the size of an old radar detector - to watch "certain channels" on analog TV's.  I would need this to feed the PIP input on our TV which at this time is still offered by Comcast.  If that would suffice for some of your TV's that might save you some $.

 

I'm still holding off on making the switch in spite of the $146 monthly Comcast bill which includes HBO/SHO and one HD/DVR STB and another "just digital" STB.  Seems to me there are still too many hassles out there with the FIOS system and wouldn't make the alleged $ saving of the Vz 3-way bundle worth the aggravation.  We use the DVR constantly for time shifting and I can't believe how many people are having issues with the FIOS box DVR's.


Yes that would work for a second input for PIP, but keep in mind that ALL Verizon STBs respond to the same IR signal from the remote control.  This makes it difficult to locate 2 STBs at the same TV and not have them both respond to a channel change.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.