Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Reply
JohnCF
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎01-15-2010

When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 1 of 9
(1,907 Views)

So the other day when I was fed up with the many annoying glitches my 7232 exhibits daily, audio drops, pixelation, frame stuttering, delayed channel changes, etc... the standard cr*p we FiOS users have to live with, I noticed on the system info screen that it says my dvr is a 7216, even though I have the black box with 7232 on it and my equipment list online says I have the 7232-2 dvr.  

 

So why call it a 7232-2 if its just a 7216 under the hood?  Who knows.

 

Back to running the daily scheduled auto-fix corrector tool to get this box to work half way right, again.

 

 

8 REPLIES 8
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 2 of 9
(1,867 Views)

I haven't gone through the specs in detail, but on a cursory look the 7216 & 7232 appear to provide the same features. They look different, but that is just cosmetics.

 

It reminds of when I worked for GE in their television manufacturing plant.  (Many years ago.) On one assembly line, when the TVs reached the end they could receive up to eight different labels, and get packed in boxes with eight different names. I was always amazed when someone claimed a certain brand was better than another.  And I knew they were the same exact TV, except for the nameplate.  I've seen the same things in other electronics in recent years. 

 

Bottom line:  Are the features what you expected?  If so, don't be concerned about the discrepency in model number.

jackmcgann
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎11-09-2010

Re: When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 3 of 9
(1,856 Views)

@JohnCF wrote:

So the other day when I was fed up with the many annoying glitches my 7232 exhibits daily, audio drops, pixelation, frame stuttering, delayed channel changes, etc... the standard cr*p we FiOS users have to live with, I noticed on the system info screen that it says my dvr is a 7216, even though I have the black box with 7232 on it and my equipment list online says I have the 7232-2 dvr.  

 

So why call it a 7232-2 if its just a 7216 under the hood?  Who knows.

 

 


Same here, but my understanding is the boxes are the same, except for HD size. My 7232-2 id's as a 7216 also.

Pauly
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-21-2010

Re: When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 4 of 9
(1,840 Views)

audio drops, pixelazation, and frames freezing are usually not an issue with the box. It's usually a signal issue may want to have a vz tech check it out. The DVR's at one point were having issues with slow response not sure if still going on.

JohnCF
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎01-15-2010

Re: When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 5 of 9
(1,793 Views)

I have a full strength signal - all my db values are right where they are supposed to be for everything to work properly but I still have frame stuttering / frame dropping, pixelation and audio drops daily.  Also, about once or twice a week I will look at a recording that starts macroblocking until it is unwatchable, just like when a heavy storm would break up the signal on a satellite tv channel.

 

I came from Dish Network, which was supposedly the cheap, low quality service provider but after living with FiOS for 3 years now I can say everything Dish did was miles ahead of FiOS TV in signal quality and equipment quality.  It is obvious to me Verizon would rather we not have dvrs at all and stream everything from them or just watch everything live.

 

 

JohnCF
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎01-15-2010

Re: When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 6 of 9
(1,792 Views)

It would seem the 7216 and 7232 are the same thing so why have the 7232 at all?  Same IMG and both can have the 500gb hard drive.  Very odd behavior to say the least.

 

 

sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 7 of 9
(1,784 Views)

Aesthetically there's no comparison. The 7216s are silver monstrosities, with that leering orange type face, while the 7232s are a sleeker black with a brightness-adjustable white/blue type face. I also think the 7232s have a faster processor, though I'm not 100 percent certain that is the case.

mattheww
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 8 of 9
(1,721 Views)

Functionally the 7232 and 7216 are identical. Usually the 7232 has a larger HDD (although I understand some 7216 are appearing with 500gb hdd's). The 7232 has a slightly faster Processor and some  other changes that reduce the power requirements by a few watts relative to the 7216. As far as Verizon firmware is concerned, these two platforms are identical.

armond_in_nj
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: When a 7232 is not a 7232...

Message 9 of 9
(1,632 Views)

@JohnCF wrote:

... I noticed on the system info screen that it says my dvr is a 7216, even though I have the black box with 7232 on it and my equipment list online says I have the 7232-2 dvr.  

 

So why call it a 7232-2 if its just a 7216 under the hood?  Who knows ...

 


I do.  You may be referring to the second sysinfo screen.  This is a glitch in the sysinfo software rather than a true indication of the model number.  This issue has been noted elsewhere on these pages by several users (myself included) who also have a 7232, but have found that the second screen reports 7216.  I don't mean this so much as an explanation, but instead an elaboration.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title