Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Which HD DVR box should I ask for?

Reply
coasterbob
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-23-2009

Which HD DVR box should I ask for?

Message 1 of 6
(7,867 Views)
I am currently waiting for the Verizon technician to arrive and install the Triple Freedom bundle.  I see in the forums that their are issues with certain HD DVR boxes.  What is the BEST box to get?  I have a Samsung DLP HD TV.   I live in South Jersey.    Also will I be able to keep my HDMI connections ?  Thnaks, Bob
Message Edited by coasterbob on 03-23-2009 06:12 AM
5 REPLIES 5
TimSykes
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Which HD DVR box should I ask for?

Message 2 of 6
(7,862 Views)
All the STB run the same base software. So issues one have they all will have. But with the new software 1.6.2 most major issues have been fixed. Only a few small ones are around, but nothing thats are big at all. Now if you only getting 1 STB, just go with the DVR, it is in HD and has everthing you need. If you are getting more then one STB, get a Multiroom 7216 DVR and a HD STB. The 7216 will stream recored shows to any other non DVR STB in your house.
coasterbob
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-23-2009

Re: Which HD DVR box should I ask for?

Message 3 of 6
(7,858 Views)
Thanks for your quick response.  I am getting 1 SD STB and 1 HD/DVR.   I don't really a need multi-room DVR at this time.  I was concerned about the HDMI problems I have read about, and thought there were up-graded boxes to look for.  I don't know if we get that 1.6.2 software in our area (Sicklerville, NJ).
TimSykes
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Which HD DVR box should I ask for?

Message 4 of 6
(7,846 Views)
Well you do know you can still stream SD recordings from the multiroom DVR. And if you do run into the HDMI issue just use component cables. They pump out the same picture quality as the HDMIs . The max resolution for the STB is 1080i and both the HDMI and component will display in that.
coasterbob
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-23-2009

Re: Which HD DVR box should I ask for?

Message 5 of 6
(7,844 Views)
But, don't the HDMI offer much better audio (in 1 cable) being that my receiver is connected to the setup as well.    I mean, I bought these $$ HDMI cables that worked very nicley for my Comcast setup and now I might have to buy component cables?  That don't sit right with me.   I only hope the HDMI's work.......     Bob   
TimSykes
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Which HD DVR box should I ask for?

Message 6 of 6
(7,840 Views)

@coasterbob wrote:
But, don't the HDMI offer much better audio (in 1 cable) being that my receiver is connected to the setup as well.    I mean, I bought these $$ HDMI cables that worked very nicley for my Comcast setup and now I might have to buy component cables?  That don't sit right with me.   I only hope the HDMI's work.......     Bob   

The installer should have component cables, just have him leave a set just in case. And with the component cables, you can use a optical cable, and in my opinion optical gives the best digital sound, better then HDMI. But even a digital coaxial (you can use 1 RCA cable) gives great surround sound. Unless you are a big time audiophile you will not notice the difference between the 3 digital formats. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.