Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Which STBs for me?

SOLVED
Reply
geebee2K
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Which STBs for me?

Message 1 of 11
(7,258 Views)

I'm planning on getting Verizon FiOS TV service. I understand that the Home Media DVR can record up to three shows at once, and play three recorded shows to three different set top boxes (presumably over the FiOS connection.) I also understand that their Standard STB will not play anything in this mode that was recorded in HD. So if I want to see anything that's recorded on the HMD _in HD_, I will need to use HD Receivers.

 

My question: will their HD Receivers downscale (decently) for an older 4:3 TV set (that's what the other two TVs are)? One of these days, I'll replace them with flat-screen HD units, but for the time being, that's what I got!

 

Similar question: Suppose I got _2_ HMD units for recording. Could I watch any programming from either of them on any other STB, _including_ the other HMD???

 

'Preciate your help, gurus!

 

G

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
KenAF
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 6 of 11
(7,176 Views)

@geebee2K wrote:

 

(1) Upon reviewing Verizon's info for the Home Media DVR, I don't see where it actually says it can record two shows simultaneously (let alone THREE... oops). Is it correct that this model CAN record two shows at once (or show one live while recording a second one, etc.)?


That's correct.  The Verizon DVR will allow you to watch one live channel while you record another; it will also allow you to record two different HD channels, while you watch a third, previously recorded HD program (just like Moxi and TiVo).

 

 


@geebee2K wrote:

 

(2) Assuming I have a Home Media DVR set up as "the" multi-room machine, can I use a regular HD DVR machine to view content from the HMDVR? (as if the HD DVR was just another set-top box...)


No, you cannot.  Content on the MRDVR can only be accessed by the HD STBs and SD STBs; it cannot be accessed by another DVR.  You can only have MRDVR functionality enabled on one DVR in your home; HD STBs and SD STBs cannot access the recordings on multiple DVRs.

 

 


@geebee2K wrote:

 

(3) Is it correct, then, that the HD set-top boxes cannot downscale to Standard Def? (The DirecTV boxes I have currently will downscale, letterbox, etc. to work with any kind of TV.)


The HD boxes certainly can downscale to standad definition with letterbox.   But you cannot access HD recordings on the MRDVR with a SD-only box.   To access HD recordings, you need the HD STB, which can then downscale to standard definition for an older television.

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 2 of 11
(7,254 Views)
The unit only records two shows at once, not three. Only one Multi Room DVR can be used to stream to other boxes, you can get another DVR, but like I said, only one can be considered the "multi room DVR"
spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 3 of 11
(7,208 Views)

The answer to your question really depends on what the end result you are after.

 

Question, how many HD tv's do you have? How many SD tv's to you have?

 

Do you want individual recording availablity on one, two, ten tv's?

 

How you answer these questions will change our answers. For example. Lets say that you have 3 tv's. 2 HD and 1 SD. You only want recording on 1 tv.

 

My answer in that case would be....Get 1 MRDVR, 1 HD STB, and 1 SD STB.  The DVR would do all the recording, Any recording in SD could be viewed on any of your 3 TV's. Any HD recording would only be able to be viewed on the two HD TV's. The SD tv would be out of the loop at this point.

 

 

Now Lets say that you have the same 3 tv's but want recording ability on all 3. Then I would say, get 3 DVR's. Each TV has its own recording and none of them can talk to one another. 3 independant  systems

 

 

Finally, same 3 tv's but you want recording on 1 HD and 1 SD tv. Then I would get 1 MRDVR, 1 HD STB, and 1 DVR. I'd Place the MRDVR on one of the HD tv's and the HD box on the other HD TV. Anything recorded by the MRDVR could be viewed by the HD STB. Then the other DVR would go on the SD TV and it would be a stand alone unit that talks to nothing but itself.

Message Edited by spacedebris on 08-21-2009 02:55 PM



====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
geebee2K
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 4 of 11
(7,181 Views)

Thanks for lots of great answers! I am familiar with the multi-room capabilities of the ReplayTV system, whereby content on ANY Replay unit could be viewed on any other. I see Verizon didn't go that route.

 

(1) Upon reviewing Verizon's info for the Home Media DVR, I don't see where it actually says it can record two shows simultaneously (let alone THREE... oops). Is it correct that this model CAN record two shows at once (or show one live while recording a second one, etc.)?

 

(2) Assuming I have a Home Media DVR set up as "the" multi-room machine, can I use a regular HD DVR machine to view content from the HMDVR? (as if the HD DVR was just another set-top box...)

 

(3) Is it correct, then, that the HD set-top boxes cannot downscale to Standard Def? (The DirecTV boxes I have currently will downscale, letterbox, etc. to work with any kind of TV.)

 

Thanks,

G

BrianMcD
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 5 of 11
(7,175 Views)

@geebee2K wrote:

(1) Upon reviewing Verizon's info for the Home Media DVR, I don't see where it actually says it can record two shows simultaneously (let alone THREE... oops). Is it correct that this model CAN record two shows at once (or show one live while recording a second one, etc.)?

 

(2) Assuming I have a Home Media DVR set up as "the" multi-room machine, can I use a regular HD DVR machine to view content from the HMDVR? (as if the HD DVR was just another set-top box...)

 

(3) Is it correct, then, that the HD set-top boxes cannot downscale to Standard Def? (The DirecTV boxes I have currently will downscale, letterbox, etc. to work with any kind of TV.)

 

Thanks,

G


(1) The Verizon DVR's contain Dual Tuners.  You can record 2 different programs, and watch a different program that you previously recorded. You can record one channel and watch another.

 

(2) The contect from a HMDVR  can not be viewed on another DVR.  The content can only be shared to STBs.

 

(3) The HD STB will downconvert a HD signal for viewing on a standard TV.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
KenAF
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 6 of 11
(7,177 Views)

@geebee2K wrote:

 

(1) Upon reviewing Verizon's info for the Home Media DVR, I don't see where it actually says it can record two shows simultaneously (let alone THREE... oops). Is it correct that this model CAN record two shows at once (or show one live while recording a second one, etc.)?


That's correct.  The Verizon DVR will allow you to watch one live channel while you record another; it will also allow you to record two different HD channels, while you watch a third, previously recorded HD program (just like Moxi and TiVo).

 

 


@geebee2K wrote:

 

(2) Assuming I have a Home Media DVR set up as "the" multi-room machine, can I use a regular HD DVR machine to view content from the HMDVR? (as if the HD DVR was just another set-top box...)


No, you cannot.  Content on the MRDVR can only be accessed by the HD STBs and SD STBs; it cannot be accessed by another DVR.  You can only have MRDVR functionality enabled on one DVR in your home; HD STBs and SD STBs cannot access the recordings on multiple DVRs.

 

 


@geebee2K wrote:

 

(3) Is it correct, then, that the HD set-top boxes cannot downscale to Standard Def? (The DirecTV boxes I have currently will downscale, letterbox, etc. to work with any kind of TV.)


The HD boxes certainly can downscale to standad definition with letterbox.   But you cannot access HD recordings on the MRDVR with a SD-only box.   To access HD recordings, you need the HD STB, which can then downscale to standard definition for an older television.

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.

View solution in original post

geebee2K
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 7 of 11
(7,133 Views)

@KenAF wrote:

@geebee2K wrote:

 

(2) Assuming I have a Home Media DVR set up as "the" multi-room machine, can I use a regular HD DVR machine to view content from the HMDVR? (as if the HD DVR was just another set-top box...)


No, you cannot.  Content on the MRDVR can only be accessed by the HD STBs and SD STBs; it cannot be accessed by another DVR.  You can only have MRDVR functionality enabled on one DVR in your home; HD STBs and SD STBs cannot access the recordings on multiple DVRs.

 

 


Thanks again for all your help, Ken. Remembering that I am new to the Verizon FiOS world: am I wrong in thinking that it would be an obviously-desirable feature to _BE_ able to watch MRDVR content on an HD DVR? If I were to have a second DVR in my system, it seems reasonable that I might want to watch content from the MRDVR on it, since it would have all the other capabilities that an ordinary set-top box would have. Has this capability been suggested to Verizon? Or are they just not going to change anything till their Cisco DVRs come out next year? Or is there some "gotcha" about trying to use a HD DVR in this capacity?

 

G

spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 8 of 11
(7,098 Views)

Yeah, its been suggested and it makes sense to have it. But from what I understand, there is some kind of technical issue with the way the DVR's receive signals that make it difficult to talk to another DVR. They can send out fine. But the way a HD stb or SD stb receive signals is different from the way a DVR receives a signal. Has something to do with hard drive and buffer. I dont fully understand it but it was the only partial answer I got on this issue.

 

I was just talking to my friend over at verizon and he said that they are looking into enabling the external storage on the DVR's in the near future. He thinks about the time the cisco's come out next year. He's not sure if it will be by the firewire or USB port yet but if this does come to pass, then there will be a way to share between dvr's. A little cumbersome but you would record it on the external drive then the drive could be moved to other boxes. At least I would think so anyway. We will have to wait and see.

Message Edited by spacedebris on 08-23-2009 10:40 AM



====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 9 of 11
(7,093 Views)

@spacedebris wrote:

 

I was just talking to my friend over at verizon and he said that they are looking into enabling the external storage on the DVR's in the near future. He thinks about the time the cisco's come out next year. He's not sure if it will be by the firewire or USB port yet but if this does come to pass, then there will be a way to share between dvr's. A little cumbersome but you would record it on the external drive then the drive could be moved to other boxes. At least I would think so anyway. We will have to wait and see.

Message Edited by spacedebris on 08-23-2009 10:40 AM

It is my understanding that any external drives would be "locked" to the specific DVR in order to keep the MPAA happy by maintaining copy prevention.  However, it ceratinly would be a welcome surprise if what you suggest is done.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Which STBs for me?

Message 10 of 11
(7,074 Views)
yeah, I have no idea how it would be set up. I didnt even think about them locking it to an individual stb. I figured they would encode it so it could only be viewed by a STB but I didnt think it would be to a specific STB. Food for thought. I guess we'll see, when and if it actually happens.



====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.