×

Switch Account

Worst TV service I have ever seen

Worst TV service I have ever seen

Reply
Contributor mpeeling
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-02-2019
Message 1 of 7
(441 Views)

FIOS is the worst service I have ever had and I have had several over the years.

The TV service freezes and is pixelated. Then when you try to fix the problem with the support site you cannot chat with anyone because the chat window doesn't work. If you call you get someone that reads from a book and has no idea what do to because their next response is not printed in a book.

Then I tried the support online and it takes me through a series of questions that are totally unrelated to the equipment I have. HEY VERISON, YOU INSTALLED A WIRELESS DEVICE! THER IS NO COAXIAL CABLE!

Then, I try to submit a post in the forum and the forum blows up three times before working! Unbelievable!


Looks like it is time to file a complaint with the FCC for failure to deliver a service as promised and for negligence.

All I can say is, FIOS is crap!

6 REPLIES 6
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 2 of 7
(406 Views)

FiOS does use coax from ONT to the VMS.

The latest IPCs can use wireless.

Are you having issues with the VMS PQ as well? Or just the remotes?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor mpeeling
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-02-2019
Message 3 of 7
(267 Views)

Just the wireless set top box

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 4 of 7
(254 Views)

Wireless is not guaranteed.

Just like any wireless signal, it can be problematic.

These boxes will also work off ethernet or coax if available.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Contributor mpeeling
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-02-2019
Message 5 of 7
(240 Views)

I asked for coax but according to the tech, it should work fine. Well, it doesn't.  Its interesting that any streaming service Roku etc.. works flawlessly but this device doesn't. What does that say?

Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
Message 6 of 7
(220 Views)

@mpeeling wrote:

I asked for coax but according to the tech, it should work fine. Well, it doesn't.  Its interesting that any streaming service Roku etc.. works flawlessly but this device doesn't. What does that say?


It’s possible we other users might be able to help resolve this issue.  If you’d like to do that, please read and respond.  If you’re convinced that it’s the worst TV service ever, then I suggest you take advantage of the 30-day cancelation window and move on.  I will say I find the FiOS ONE boxes and TV service works well, both with wired and WiFi connected devices.  Many other people have no issues with the system.

 

The issue sounds like a problem with the WiFi signal at one box.  If you have a WiFi connected Roku or other streaming box and can move it to the same location, that will be a good test to determine if it’s a signal issue.

 

Another test is to switch the troublesome box from WiFi to wired.  You can connect it to Ethernet or Coax, whichever is easier.  Unplug the box, connect it to Ethernet or coax, then plug it back in and it will switch automatically.

 

You could also move the suspect box to another location where you know it gets good WiFi or can wire it up.  If it still doesn’t work well, you probably have a bad box and need to contact Verizon.  Try @VerizonSupport on Twitter or the VZ Direct forum at DSL Reports (https://www.dslreports.com/forum/vzdirect).  Either shoud get you better support then calling them.

 

Good Luck.




-----
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,705
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 7 of 7
(209 Views)

Do you have coax available in the location of the box?

If so, then you can hook it up yourself.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.