Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

YouTube on FIOS TV Box Hangs

Reply
LarrySinNYC
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-12-2021

YouTube on FIOS TV Box Hangs

Message 1 of 7
(663 Views)

Often when watching YouTube App on the FIOS TV box, the programming will go to a black screen with the words "Loading..." in the upper right.

 

Sometimes it will resolve itself after a minute or two, other times the box will lock up completely, requiring me to unplug the AC from the wall outlet.  

 

We have no other issues with live TV, shows we record on this DVR, or other streaming apps of this box. 

 

Can anything be done to improve the stability of the connection?

 

6 REPLIES 6
clem53
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,756
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: YouTube on FIOS TV Box Hangs

Message 2 of 7
(650 Views)

@LarrySinNYC wrote:

Often when watching YouTube App on the FIOS TV box, the programming will go to a black screen with the words "Loading..." in the upper right.

 

Sometimes it will resolve itself after a minute or two, other times the box will lock up completely, requiring me to unplug the AC from the wall outlet.  

 

We have no other issues with live TV, shows we record on this DVR, or other streaming apps of this box. 

 

Can anything be done to improve the stability of the connection?

 


Are you watching on a mini or the main Fios one box? If it's a mini and you are using wireless connection, that could be the issue. If that is the case, can you hook up the mini via coax or ethernet?

LarrySinNYC
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-12-2021

Re: YouTube on FIOS TV Box Hangs

Message 3 of 7
(645 Views)

Main FIOS box.  It's the only TV box we have.

clem53
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,756
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: YouTube on FIOS TV Box Hangs

Message 4 of 7
(572 Views)

@LarrySinNYC wrote:

Main FIOS box.  It's the only TV box we have.


Try unplugging power to the box and router for at least 3 minutes. Power the router back up, and when stable plug the box back in. See if that helps. Also what internet speed do you have? Have you tested it lately?

fnf
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-07-2022

Re: YouTube on FIOS TV Box Hangs

Message 5 of 7
(447 Views)

happening intermittently at my house on the main and my son's house TOO!  today twice during watching youtube.  the first time, cleared itself after ~5 minutes,  the second time would not clear on its own AND NO BUTTONS ON REMOTE CLEAR IT!!!  I used the customer support on a mini box to reset the MAIN.  I shouldn't have to unplug my box multiple times a day.  looking for a real solution please.

LarrySinNYC
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-12-2021

Re: YouTube on FIOS TV Box Hangs

Message 6 of 7
(412 Views)

Fios One box with no ethernet connection.  No Wi-Fi on TV either.   So YouTube, Netflix, etc. on this TV getting network traffic from Coax only.

clem53
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,756
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: YouTube on FIOS TV Box Hangs

Message 7 of 7
(385 Views)

@fnf wrote:

happening intermittently at my house on the main and my son's house TOO!  today twice during watching youtube.  the first time, cleared itself after ~5 minutes,  the second time would not clear on its own AND NO BUTTONS ON REMOTE CLEAR IT!!!  I used the customer support on a mini box to reset the MAIN.  I shouldn't have to unplug my box multiple times a day.  looking for a real solution please.


Set-top box can be rebooted here:

Main Menu > Customer Support > Top Support Tools>Reboot STB.

While you're there you might want to try this too:

Main Menu > Customer Support > Top Support Tools > Fix FiOS TV Issues

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title