Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

basic s-video cable question

SOLVED
avemaria92
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II

basic s-video cable question

Message 1 of 6
(6,538 Views)

hello,

I'm new to using a dvd recorder and am trying to hook it up.   My tv does not have an s-video port but the dvd player and cable box do.  I have the regular audio/video cables hooking the dvd player to the tv.. those work fine.  When i use those same cables to record with the dvd player, from box to dvd player they work fine also.  I figured since it was there i would get an s-video cable and use that.  So i have basic red and white audio cables hooking the cable box to the dvd recorder and it records audio ok.. but the s-video cable i just connected the cable box to the dvd player either doesn't work or i'm missing something because there is no video going to the player.

Basically am I missing something in getting the cable box to product video through my new s-video cable?  

thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
avemaria92
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II

Re: basic s-video cable question

Message 6 of 6
(6,362 Views)
i feel dumb knowing it was such an easy fix but that's what it was.. you have to change the setting on the dvd player telling it that you're using s-video input.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII

Message 2 of 6
(6,538 Views)
All the outputs on the box are active at the same time.  Did you set your recorder for the proper input (line, video 1, or whatever is appropriate)?
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
avemaria92
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II

Message 3 of 6
(6,516 Views)

hello,