Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Reply
bswin03
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-23-2009

fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 1 of 12
(11,862 Views)
i am furious right now after getting off the phone w/ verizon tech support.  just spent 2k on tv that isn't compatible with fios and hdmi cables.  also spent 70 bucks on one cable.  never was this "issue" mentioned to me from verizon!  just sign and pay your bill i guess.  called support, he told me to used component cables instead.  i told him i don't have them and won't spend another 70 bucks on new cables because of fios problems.  he then tells me circuit city is going under and i can a set for cheaper there.  are you kidding me?  i told him to send a tech out with comparable component cables and i wouldn't spend a nickel on another set of cables.  he sent me to billing, who can't do anything for me either.  SUPRISE!!!  i'm going to but the most expensive set of component cables i can find and send verizon the bill.  they can take that amount off of my bill, along the first months charge for tv i coould't watch.
11 REPLIES 11
Staffer21
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-11-2009

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 2 of 12
(11,844 Views)

You have a few options. You could buy component cables from a place like monoprice.com or firefold.com. Both offer same quality cables at a fraction of a cost.

You could try to get Verizon to send you a different box. Not all of the boxes don't work. Verizon just hasn't come to terms that it is their problem and not a Samsung problem. By simply changing out to a different box (same model), my Samsung TV started working just fine with HDMI

Last option, you could walk away from Verizon and go with a different provider. 

 

Hopefully, Verizon will eventually get a box that doesn't tend to have this handshake problem. 

DCGTLS
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 3 of 12
(11,830 Views)
I have a Samsung LN52A650 with FIOS TV. I am running the HDMI from the FIOS box thru my Yamaha AVR to the TV without any issue at all. I think that since the handshake is not directly from the TV to the FIOS box is the reason. I have read all over the internet of people having handshake issues with the Samsung to the Fios box. If you have a surround sound system that has HDMI you may want to try running it that way.
jamieva
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 4 of 12
(11,826 Views)
I have a Samsung LCD with an HD DVR and never had a problem using the HDMI cable with it.
Carl
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 5 of 12
(11,779 Views)

I have an LN22A450 in the bedroom attached to the 6200 via HDMI with no issues.

 

I am a lucky one. 

Staffer21
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-11-2009

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 6 of 12
(11,763 Views)
I know plenty of people who have this same issue, and they do not have a Samsung TV. Some have Sony, some have Toshiba, and some have pioneer. The problem is a per box issue, and not a whole sale problem. If it was a whole sale problem, and only with Samsung, I wouldn't have gotten a working box just by moving the problem box to a different TV.
marley
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 7 of 12
(11,701 Views)

Why pay 70 bucks for a HDMI cable when you can the same cable for under 5 bucks. 

 www.monoprice.com.  There have been numerous test on Monster versus Monoprice and the quality is the same.

 

 

badmessanger
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-30-2009

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 8 of 12
(11,574 Views)

Samsung has many know HDMI and firmware "issues"  a simple Google search will tell you, it is not simply an issue with Fios or even motorolla boxes, it has also been seen with PS3's DVD and bluray players, other cable providers set-top boxes, etc etc etc

 

If you issue is the "unsupported mode" , the problem is simply that, your TV will not display 480i when using an HD hookup.... change the SD override in the DVR to 480p and that should resolve your issue.

 

 

On a side note, Verizon knows how much cables cost.... do not expect to be reimbursed in full, for purchasing over priced cables.... especially after admitting to doing it out of spite, on their own website

klb
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-06-2009

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 9 of 12
(11,300 Views)
I have a Samsung HD TV and the 6214 Motorola box.  I had no issues until last week, about 12 months after getting the HDVR.  It's been so many things, I have forgotten what went wrong in the first place = oh, yes, the picture froze.  I went through more than 5 troubleshooting calls.  One resulted in a new box being sent.  I hooked up the new box and then began losing sound intermittently.  Reboot, re-initializing, and a new HDMI cable didn't work for long.  The last service rep told me to go to Samsung for a patch or use component cables.  I didn't use component cables in the first place because the installer couldn't get them to work.  No patch on the Samsung website for my tv.  Called Samsung and the rep said they will send me a firmware update.  Since none was listed on the website, I was hoping the tech knew what they were doing.  Now I read on the forum that this might not work.  If this is the wonderful new world of digital tv, bring back analog.  I never had these problems then.  So many possibilities you need to be an engineer or a full-time nerd.  I think the person who said it was a STB issue is probably right, otherwise, why did the hdmi cable work for a year with the Samsung TV and the old box.  Maybe this 6.1.2 patch, whatever that is will fix the problem without a firmware update.
commish_ffl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2009

Re: fios and samsung+ hdmi doesn't work

Message 10 of 12
(11,111 Views)

@badmessanger wrote:

Samsung has many know HDMI and firmware "issues"  a simple Google search will tell you, it is not simply an issue with Fios or even motorolla boxes, it has also been seen with PS3's DVD and bluray players, other cable providers set-top boxes, etc etc etc

 

If you issue is the "unsupported mode" , the problem is simply that, your TV will not display 480i when using an HD hookup.... change the SD override in the DVR to 480p and that should resolve your issue.

 

 

On a side note, Verizon knows how much cables cost.... do not expect to be reimbursed in full, for purchasing over priced cables.... especially after admitting to doing it out of spite, on their own website


Hey BadMessanger, 

I am also getting the "Not Supported Mode", but only seem to get this with the DVR.  I have gone over countless calls with Verizon's "tech support", and the only thing they can ever tell me is that it is a known issue.  No one ever suggested to change the SD Override to 480P.  Can you tell me where I can find this setting change? 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title