Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

fios live tv pausing doesn't work. what say you?

Reply
renan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-26-2009

fios live tv pausing doesn't work. what say you?

Message 1 of 6
(5,380 Views)

With dish network i used to pause live tv for 2 hours and with verizon fios only about 15 to 20 minutes. I guess it's true what they say, You don't know what you have until it's gone and now i'm stuck with verizon. Yikes.....

5 REPLIES 5
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: fios live tv pausing sucks. what say you?

Message 2 of 6
(5,377 Views)

 

 


 

Re: fios live tv pausing sucks. what say you?

 


 

I say it works just fine. I only use pause when I am going for a potty break or to get something to eat from the kitchen, otherwise I just push the record button and go cut the grass, out to eat, or whatever. For me it is no big deal, not even a little deal. But then I have had FiOS TV for 4 1/2 years with the same DVR, I learned long ago how the DVR works and just adapted I guess.

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7.1, Build 09.97
Keller, TX 76248

ekem015
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: fios live tv pausing sucks. what say you?

Message 3 of 6
(5,362 Views)

Why would you need to pause it for 2 hours? Wouldn't that cause burn-in on some TVs? Why not just press record and watch it later if you're going to be away for 2 hours?

tightlines2
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-28-2008

Re: fios live tv pausing sucks. what say you?

Message 4 of 6
(5,053 Views)

actually, i would tend to agree - that the pause function should be configurable - default to 15 minutes or whatever, but allow the user to change the duration, e.g. 15, 30, 60, indefinitly.

ksebruce
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-21-2009

Re: fios live tv pausing doesn't work. what say you?

Message 5 of 6
(4,972 Views)

The problem with the DVR pause is not the length of time it stays paused but the fact that it catches up to live TV when the pause buffer times out instead of simply playing from where you paused it - Totally ridiculous behavior that has been pointed out numerous times yet continues to go unfixed.

dursty
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-21-2010

Re: fios live tv pausing doesn't work. what say you?

Message 6 of 6
(4,716 Views)

Agree with the above poster.... why oh why after the buffer is full would the tv resume playing in real time rather than where it was paused...VERIZON.. FOR THE LOVE GOD PLEASE FIX THIS.    IT"S COMMON SENSE!!!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.