Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

guide won't load

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-22-2010

guide won't load

Message 1 of 9
(20,799 Views)

any ideas why the guide says "please wait..." and "program information not available" today? anyone else having the same problem?

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-23-2010

Re: guide won't load

Message 2 of 9
(20,771 Views)

Yes im having the same problem on my hd dvr box. Been like this for 3 days. My 3 regular stb's are working fine. Please fix this Verizon. Ive went online and had my dvr resest but still same problem.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: guide won't load

Message 3 of 9
(20,735 Views)

It's sounds like your STB isn't seeing the Internet, which is how the STB gets the program guide information.  Try this.  Uplug the STB, then unplug your router.  Power the router back up and let it boot fully.  Then plug in the STB and let it boot. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-23-2010

Re: guide won't load

Message 4 of 9
(20,699 Views)

I just tried that PJL and no luck still the same thing. I have 3 other STB's here and the guides work fine, even on the hd one. The only one not loading the guide is my hd dvr STB

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,001
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: guide won't load

Message 5 of 9
(20,685 Views)

Take the DVR to one of the outlets where you have a working STB and swap it with that STB and see if the guide comes up.  If so, you have a wiring issue at the DVR outlet (you can try taking the working STB to that outlet as well to confirm).   If it's specific to the outlet, check all splitters and cables to make sure none have worked themselves lose or are not properly terminated.

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: guide won't load

Message 6 of 9
(20,666 Views)

Also, check the system information screen and see if there is an IP address assigned to the STB.  Then check the router and see if the STB shows up there.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-23-2010

Re: guide won't load

Message 7 of 9
(20,641 Views)

well i plugged the STB into a working outlet and guide still doesnt load. Ive checked all wiring and looks fine. My guide was working fine since i got the box 2 months ago and just stopped loading guide 4 days ago. It does show an ip address and it matches with router and says online. heres what my guide looks like. thanks guys for help. ill be calling tech support now.\

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a268/novabortion/IMG_2822.jpg

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,001
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: guide won't load

Message 8 of 9
(20,626 Views)

Would confirm by taking a "working" STB to the DVR's former outlet that the guide comes up on that STB.  This will eliminate the wiring and point clearly to the DVR itself (problem follows the box, not the outlet) which should help when you call tech support (make sure you tell them the problem follows the box, not the location, so that you get them to focus on the the box itself as the source of the issue).

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-07-2014

Re: guide won't load

Message 9 of 9
(16,192 Views)

Solution to Verizon Quantum FIOS TV Guide “Please Wait” Issue:

 

== Read entire sequence below before attempting ==

 

  1. Physically Unplug power cable to Router and ALL cable boxes and leave unplugged for at least 5-10 minutes. (lets capacitors discharge)
  2. Physically disconnect all CAT-5 cables from the back of Router. The only lines that should be plugged in the Router now is the coax cable.
  3. Plug in power to Router ONLY! Let it boot up for 5 minutes until the Network light on the front blinks green.  (do not plug in cat-5 yet)
  4. Now, IN ORDER -- ORDER IS IMPORTANT HERE!  Plug power in on MASTER cable box only.    Press “Menu” button on remote and wait for it to go through the connection sequence.  STOP HERE.  Wait for TV signal to appear on home screen.  Your TV guide info should work here.  If it does not then skip to the Troubleshooting step below.
  5. Repeat step 4 for all SATELLITE cable boxes. Wait until TV & Guide appears before proceeding to the next cable box.  Leave cable boxes & TV ON after completion and move to the next.
  6. Repeat step 4 for all secondary MASTER cable boxes.
  7. All TVs and boxes should now have cable & guide.
  8. Plug in all CAT-5 network cables into Router.

 

Troubleshooting

 

If, in step 4, your MASTER cable box does not establish a video signal / guide info then do the following:

  1. Check your cable connections
  2. Unplug power from MASTER box
  3. Use paperclip to reset router to it’s shipping settings by finding the small hole on the back of the router, inserting the paperclip point, and depressing button for 30 seconds. (WARNING – This will wipe out all settings & Wi-Fi info and reset the router to factory default).
  4. Once reset proceed to step #1.

 

Note – Order is EXTREMELY important!!  By leaving just 1 CAT-5 network cable in the back of the router during this process it will FAIL.  By leaving just 1 other cable box powered up during this process it will FAIL.  I've found the communication between the cable boxes and the Actiontec router to be extremely delicate and prone to interruption.

 

Good Luck!

 

Rodney

 

PS>  Has anyone found out why the Verizon Actiontec router keeps resetting IP connections and seems to have such a hard time responding to DHCP request for IP addresses?  NAT table overflow?

 

I’ve had some success configuring the router to extend IP leases from 24 hours to 1 week but still have a “resistance” by the router to issuing out new IP address.  Have to try multiple hardware device resets (of the computer, etc) before it finally gets an IP address.  Any thoughts?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.