×

Switch Account

horizontal band drifts top to bottom

horizontal band drifts top to bottom

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
Message 1 of 8
(625 Views)

I have a approximately 1 inch high, light band that extends horizontally the entire width of my screen.  The bad slowly drops from the top of the screen to the bottom in about 15 seconds.  Then another one appears and does the same thing indefinately.  This is not visible when standard DVD is played – only when signal is coming from Verizon.  I have already replaced set top box with no success.

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 2 of 8
(592 Views)

@nt4bill wrote:

I have a approximately 1 inch high, light band that extends horizontally the entire width of my screen.  The bad slowly drops from the top of the screen to the bottom in about 15 seconds.  Then another one appears and does the same thing indefinately.  This is not visible when standard DVD is played – only when signal is coming from Verizon.  I have already replaced set top box with no success.


What method is the STB connected to the TV?  What you describe is classic 60 cycle interference caused by a poor electrical supply filter in your TV.  It is not a FiOS issue you demonstrated by replacing the STB. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
Message 3 of 8
(576 Views)

Then why is it not in the picture when I play a DVD direct ?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 4 of 8
(545 Views)

@nt4bill wrote:

Then why is it not in the picture when I play a DVD direct ?


You did not ansewr my question so I can't answer yours.  How are the STB and the DVD player connected?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
Message 5 of 8
(538 Views)

Sorry – they are not connected.  The DVD goes direct to TV.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Message 6 of 8
(531 Views)

Well PJL, you did ask. LOLSmiley LOL

 

I believe PJL is asking what cables you are using to connect your STB and DVD player to your TV (composite, S-Video, component, HDMI).

 

While he may have many more ideas than I do, I would also check your Video Settings to see if one of them can clear things up for you.

 

Menu > Settings > Video Settings

 

You'll want to make sure that these match the capabilities of your television settings.

 

It could very well be a filtering or shielding issue.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
Message 7 of 8
(521 Views)

Thanks to you both, I will check.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 8 of 8
(506 Views)

@nt4bill wrote:

Sorry – they are not connected.  The DVD goes direct to TV.


How are the DVD and the STB connected to the TV? 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.