Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

"Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Reply
JBR
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-15-2008

"Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 1 of 35
(11,097 Views)

Dear Verizon FIOS

 

I am absolutely amazed that literally 1000's of customers are experiencing the same ongoing issues.

 

I have the (3) 6416-2 DVR's with the1.6.1 release but I still get to reboot every couple of days.

 

Call CS which I have done a few times since Sept 2008 and they do a system reboot which doesn't provide any longer fix than if I reboot from home

 

I am asked to disconnect this and jiggle that.When I have a problem I get to become a Verizon Diagnostic Tech. I am told or it is inferred that the lack of reliable service or the failures are somehow related to my non Verizon

 

cable connections

 

All this and Oh Yeah I get to write you a check every month.

 

Thanks Verizon .........thanks for doing business with me

 

34 REPLIES 34
glendorafios
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-24-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 2 of 35
(11,012 Views)
After having Fios TV one week I started getting "Channel Unavailable" on numerous stations that I normally receive. The stations remain "Currently Unavailable" for minutes or hours and then return. The problem is random and affects different channels. Other channels continue to work properly when I change channels. After several minues or hours when I return to a channel that was "Currently Unavailable" it will begin working again. This seems to be a line feed problem from the Verizon Fios System since it does not affect all channels at the same time. If it continues I will cancel the service and return to Direct TV since no one seems to be able to resolve the issue.
DMZ
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 3 of 35
(10,975 Views)

I too have had the disappearing audio dilemma.  I fix it by going up one channel then back.

 

The CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE issue has propped its head a couple of times then quickly corrected itself.

wb2jte
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-06-2008

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 4 of 35
(10,944 Views)

I have also been getting Currently Unavailable lately very randomly. It's very annoying, sometimes 4 or 5 channels in a row. Sometimes comes up after watching a channel for 10 or 20 seconds. Is it something I did?

 

 

DMZ
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 5 of 35
(10,936 Views)
These issues are software bugs and Verizon knows about them.  If it continues to happen, call them and ask for some credit on your account for the inconvenience.   Smiley Wink
SteveK
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-26-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 6 of 35
(10,916 Views)

My CUrrently Available" problem is on the PBS channels (23,24,523, adn two otehrs I do nto have with me now,  and also on 513.

 

My response fromtechincal non-support as been similar to reset everything.  Thten works for ten minutes ot a day then returns.  Of cousrse the big problem is when you programmed to record something you really want, and then come back and find two recording of 7 or 8 seconds each becasue the siganl was Currently Available.

 

Very tempted to call Cmcast and then Verixon will lose more than FiosTV cusotmer as my internet will go too.

 

Anyone get any real service?

 

Steve

jat454
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-28-2008

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 7 of 35
(10,853 Views)
I am also having the "Channel Unavailable" problem. If I reboot the box it is okay for only a short time and then returns. I have not called customer service, I know they'll just tell me to unplug the box..wait 20 seconds..okay plug it back in. Also having the sound dropping out occasionally as well. These are the reasons I left Comcast...
retiredme
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 8 of 35
(10,802 Views)
This is one of the most frequently-cited problems and is usually attributed to the famous HDMI handshake protocol. (The technical people are working this). I recommend a review of some of the previous posts for more details - just go to the bottom of this page and enter "HDMI currently unavailable" in the search feature for a selection of posts and historical perspective. Thank you.
jonl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 9 of 35
(10,786 Views)
I to had the same problem with 23,24,469,470,471 and others.  The problem is we had bad coax in the house.  We replaced the old coax and all is well.
DMZ
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable " and No Audio on various channels

Message 10 of 35
(10,767 Views)
If there's the old R9 coax in your home that cable companies used back in the old days, it MUST be replaced with R6 coax that has the thicker middle insulator.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title