×

Switch Account

"Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Reply
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 11 of 39
(6,133 Views)

If you are getting currently unavailable and pixelation, please call tech support, this is a cabling issue. We are required to get a field tech out and troubleshoot the cabling in your house. Please do no settle for a stb reset or having a tech send the issue to another department. (assuming the issue is currently unavailable on multiple channels)

 

If you are have issues getting the support that you deserve please message me after you have tried calling 1-888-553-1555.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-21-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 12 of 39
(6,098 Views)

I tried several of your recommendations by removing the power from the STB and reconnecting.  So far so good.  I don't seem to have the problem any longer.  Hopefully this fix is permanent but if it's not, I'll just do the same thing again.  I'm not connected via the HDMI input.  I have a rear projection set and I don't think I even have an HDMI hookup on the TV.  The fact that you said this may be a cabling issue scares me.  I don't want to pay anyone to have my home rewired when I never had this type of problem when I had my cable DVR.  I will call Verizon support if this continues to be a problem.

 

Thank you all.

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-24-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 13 of 39
(6,066 Views)

I have lurked these forums and suffer similar issues as everyone else on here.  I have to finally chime in.

 

  It is extremely frustrating and dishonest for Verizon employees to continue giving invorect advise that this is somehow related to cabling issues.  If rebooting your DVR fixes the issue, there is NO POSIIBLE WAY that this is somewhat related to cabling, especially when these are the same cables used to tranfer comcast and/or Direct TV and or Dishnetwork signals.

 

  My humble suggestion is for Verizon to realocate money and resources to fixing the issues, rather than paying service reps to post incorrect information on their forums.  The problems have occured for far too long, are too weel documented to still be treated as exceptions and not to be addressed.  people are paying way too much money for certain service levels and content.  it is time for verizon to either deliver or call it quits.

 

 

The above is my personal, customer biased opinion.

 

 

The end.

Message Edited by theos2 on 02-24-2009 10:26 AM
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 14 of 39
(5,782 Views)

I've have three boxes in my home and have had the same problem on the two boxes using HDMI cables. I finally canceled my FIOS TV service after dealing with service and billing issues for the past two years. It got to the point where something happens every month. I am sick of wasting an hour of my time each month on their phone lines and im sick of having my boxes replaced.  Today a FIOS tech told me today the I should try reversing the coax cable from the box to outlet and that sometimes works. Are you serious?

 

Verizon you need to allocate more money into fixing these box issues. You also need to allow customers better control over their service through your website. Customers have very little control of their accounts on your website. Everytime I want to cancel a channel I have to call.  Also half of the changes never take effect and the customer service reps never seem to find my previous order history.  Really convenient for you guys since I am constantly over billed.  Completely disorganized business.

 

Your internet portal is good though. So thanks to you I will now be watching all my shows through Hulu and Netflix.  Goodbye and good riddins cable television.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 15 of 39
(5,739 Views)

Absolute Crapola.

 

It's no "industry-wide HDMI handshake issue" when I can tell you from experience which channels will become "CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE" and which ones will work fine.   For instance, PBS Sprout 263 has Black Screen of Death, while Fit TV 163 works just fine.   Evidently this "bad cable" problem is so sophisticated it can tell the difference between local and premium content.  Or maybe it just hates Angelina Balerina like I do.

 

And yet, a simple "STB lobotomy" as I like to call it [the Unplug/Wait/Plug Hokey-Pokey Drill] fixes the "bad cable" every time.

 

Crapola.

 

And this is through S VIDEO, not an HDMI cable.  I have the problem with S Video and an ancient CRT (that means tube, not you-tube) television.  HDMI handshake my arse.

 

Crapola.

 

And you just can't have the time display instead of the channel.  Well, you can have that for a while, but then the Verizon overlord computer corrects the error of your wanton ways and forces back to a channel display.  Then you can go change it one way and change it back. That might last a week.  Maybe it's a bad cable?

 

Crapola.

 

Tech support?   {please keep it relevant} Now I must say, my truck rolls have given me some pretty savvy guys over the years.  But waiting for hours an navigating through Verizon's ACD is like an eternal {word filter avoidance} of four-dimensional chess.  And the sad fact is no tier level available to us mere {please keep your posts courteous}"customers" can give you a real solution to this problem anyway, so the exercise is moot {edited}  Try formatting your hard disk then call us back.  Your case number is ...

 

Crapola.

 

Feel free to tell me it's my cables.   The offending coax seemed to work just fine with DirecTV, so maybe there's a clue in there somewhere.  I'll wait for 1.62 for another few weeks, then it's back whence I came, silly little dish that works just fine and everything.  I'll keep Verizon internet, as that seems to work fine, and I'll let Vonage handle my POTS needs for $18 a month.  I'll actually save money and a lot of stress besides.

 

Crapola.

 

{edited}

 

 

-steve

Frothmouthed in NY

Message Edited by KaLin on 03-13-2009 08:17 AM
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-13-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 16 of 39
(5,712 Views)

I have the same problem on a regular basis with the local channels (BOSTON), esp. 2 and 5.  Every time I try to report it, they tell me there is an outage in our area.  It seems to only impact a handful of channels, but its so bad I can't DVR in HD because I never get anything.  I'm paying extra and can't get a good picture on my favorite channels.

 

Give me a break, will it take a class action lawsuit to get local HD channels to work (just want the HD added cost for all the hours its not working)! 

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 17 of 39
(5,707 Views)

I'm going to comment on a couple of the last couple of posts. A lot of your concerns have been stated in other threads in the forum.

 

Currently unavailable = coax issue, splitter issue, or sometimes an issue with the ONT. On rare occurrences, there is an issue at the Video Hub Office that transmits the video signal to a region.  This is usually fixed within a few hours if its an issue at the office. Lastly, there is a bug with 7xxx series cable boxes that causes this "currently unavailable" to display when watching a channel randomly. This bug is fixed in IMG 1.6.2 which is being released all this month (March).

 

The handshake issue between Samsung, Sony, LG, Etc...is most definitely a issue with not only other cable providers, but also other devices (such as Playstation, DVD players etc...) aswell.  Feel free to blame whatever, but it's most likely not going to be fixed soon.  The problem is with the specifications of HDMI and other technical factors regarding the protocol and how many different versions there are of it...also how different TV's process the signal differently.  The current workaround is COMPONENT CABLE.  This still provides 1080i resolution just like HDMI.

 

If you have any other questions, feel free to message me via Private message.

Message Edited by CharlesH on 03-13-2009 05:59 PM
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-24-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 18 of 39
(5,688 Views)

and as expected, the misinfromation from Verizon employees continues.

 

  other than letting us know when the next FIX is coming, there is very little they have to offer.  They can save a lot of money if they figure out how to post these fix schedules without having them on the payroll.

 

  In the meantime, these "non verizon firmware issues" seem to be fixed with the latest firmware upgrade so we only have to put up with these posts for a few more weeks.  they have to find a new topic to mininform about.

Message Edited by theos2 on 03-13-2009 04:21 PM
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-13-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 19 of 39
(5,687 Views)

CharlesH is correct. 

 

Most of the issues dealing with Currently Unavaialble, ESPECIALLY for people recently installed, deal with signal issues inside of the home.  The reason being, the coax cables/splitters running through the walls in homes are usually worn or old.  An arguement could be brought up as to why it worked with another provider so I'll answer that.

 

The FiOS signal uses up more bandwidth in the coax and needs a nice clean cable/splitter to deliver a good signal so you can receive all of your channels/audio - other providers simply don't need as much and that is the reason why people can tell the difference of quality.  FiOS simply utilizes much more of the coax cable.

 

Think of each channel as a lane on a highway, if one of those lanes get damaged over time it becomes troublesome to drive over it -- you can still drive over it but it takes more time to get from A to B -- the other lanes work perfectly fine.  So if youre experiencing an issue with a few channels not coming in all the time, that is exactly what is happening.  The signal isn't able to get through to the box because the path of that specific channel isn't clear but it can still get through sometimes.  It will eventually degrade to the point where you will always have the currently unavailable message just like when a road needs to get repaired.  Can't drive that path until it is fixed.

 

I'm horrible with analogies but that is the best I can come up with lol.

 

What it boils down to is either you trying to replace your splitters (usually the cause for most issues) or coax.  Either way, if you are new to FiOS take advantage of the warranty period and call tech support to see if they can troubleshoot and maybe have someone come out and fix the issues because as I said, it tends to happen to people shortly after install since they are using old equipment.

 

Now please note, what I said above isn't always the case but just usually -- which CharlesH pointed out.

.,.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-24-2009

Re: "Currently Unavailable" message on many channels

Message 20 of 39
(5,684 Views)

please note: (as CharlesH has said)

 

  If you have a 7xxx series receiver, the odds are on the buggy software rather than bad cables or splitters before making any calls.  Just wait a few more weeks for the latest firmware version to reach your area.

Message Edited by theos2 on 03-13-2009 04:24 PM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.