×

Switch Account

thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 1 of 11
(7,273 Views)

I currently have Direct TV and Verizon dsl. I've been fairly happy with both services but I am now thinking about coming to fios now that it is finally available here. I just have a few concerns. My first concern is support and service. Verizon has been terrible with service and support for my phone and DSL. Can someone tell me if Verizon Fios is any better? Service and support with Direct Tv has been good so far. Also the screen guide for Fios is in the 4:3 aspect ratio. That really looks ridiculous. Is Verizon planning any improvments with that?  Finally, their DVR does not seem to be as good as what is offered with Direct TV. I am really an HD addict and the one thing that is really attracting me to Fios is the reviews on their picture quality. Any and all comments are appreciated..... thanks

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 2 of 11
(7,261 Views)

Support and service: Phone support for Verizon, is one of the worst that I have ever had. BUT... Support on the forums here is the best. You have community support from people like myself, Justin, and keyboards. But if you need something that we can help with TheSanchez and Techman28 are always right on top of it. The best bet is to make phone support your lest effort.

 

The Guide: They are working on making it better from what I have read. Don't know much on it, a guide is a guide to me.

 

The DVR: From what I hear the DirectTV DVR is leaps and bounds over Fios, but they are always working on making it better. DirectTV has had more time to work on making theirs, and fios will get to that point. My only issue is the HDD size, but they are working on getting the eSata port working on it, some DRM issue from what I have picked up on.

 

I believe the HD picture alone made it worth switch to fios over everything. Most my issues have been with the phone support, but once your service is all setup and don't have to call them anymore you will be very happy you switched over. 

 


@alanm47 wrote:

I currently have Direct TV and Verizon dsl. I've been fairly happy with both services but I am now thinking about coming to fios now that it is finally available here. I just have a few concerns. My first concern is support and service. Verizon has been terrible with service and support for my phone and DSL. Can someone tell me if Verizon Fios is any better? Service and support with Direct Tv has been good so far. Also the screen guide for Fios is in the 4:3 aspect ratio. That really looks ridiculous. Is Verizon planning any improvments with that?  Finally, their DVR does not seem to be as good as what is offered with Direct TV. I am really an HD addict and the one thing that is really attracting me to Fios is the reviews on their picture quality. Any and all comments are appreciated..... thanks


 

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-18-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 3 of 11
(7,184 Views)
I had the exact same setup and by switching to a FIOS bundle I saved about $50 a month. I hated the FIOS DVR until I learned that I could use Tivo instead by buying the equipment and ordering cable cards from FIOS. I was a Directv/Tivo user for around 6-7 years so I prefer that interface. The Verizon tech's who did the install were from a subcontractor and I definately had my issues with them and the phone tech support from Verizon is hit and miss but at this point I have evrything running great. My current setup in a Tivo HD with a 500GB external drive which gives me 80 hours of HD record time which is plenty.
Message Edited by typerr on 12-18-2008 07:31 AM
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-18-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 4 of 11
(7,175 Views)

I switched over from Verizon DSL.  The speed and latency is about the same, but the network is much newer and it feels like it.  There have been no outages and I get the feeling there is less congestion.  If you can make the switch for a good price, from DSL, then I would recommend you do it.  Fiber optics is the future of home telephony, so be on the lookout for an opportunity.

 

By the way, the federal gov't has already given huge payouts to make residential fiber a reality, so don't feel like you need to pay extra.  You've already essentially paid for the infrastructure, through taxes.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 5 of 11
(7,173 Views)
I sorry but I am going to have to disagree with the speeds statement. The to residential speeds for DSL is 3.0/mbitsPS. Top Fios speeds 20MBitsPS. That is a big difference. And they are testing 100MBitsPS in Texas, and rolling it out sometime 2009 everywhere else. 

@nhbeaches wrote:

I switched over from Verizon DSL.  The speed and latency is about the same, but the network is much newer and it feels like it.  There have been no outages and I get the feeling there is less congestion.  If you can make the switch for a good price, from DSL, then I would recommend you do it.  Fiber optics is the future of home telephony, so be on the lookout for an opportunity.

 

By the way, the federal gov't has already given huge payouts to make residential fiber a reality, so don't feel like you need to pay extra.  You've already essentially paid for the infrastructure, through taxes.


 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-18-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 6 of 11
(7,168 Views)

I mean to say that downloading at 3 Mbps on DSL feels like downloading at 3 Mbps on FiOS.

 

Yes, TimSykes, fiber optics can potentially go up to the speed of light (infinite bandwidth) and practically is available at speeds up to 100 Mbps.  That's what I meant when I said it is the future of residential telephony.

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 7 of 11
(7,151 Views)
Actually 50mbps is available some areas right now!
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 8 of 11
(7,136 Views)
Does Fios charge for the cable cards that you use in your TIVO units?
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 9 of 11
(7,135 Views)
yeah its about 3 bucks a month.
Message Edited by TimSykes on 12-18-2008 12:51 PM
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

Re: thinking about switching to Fios ...but...

Message 10 of 11
(7,130 Views)
is that 3 bucks per card? I've been looking at the Tivo web site and they say that the HD tivos need two cards per unit.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.