×

Switch Account

why booster blocks ondemand?

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2011

why booster blocks ondemand?

Message 1 of 7
(2,041 Views)

Hi-

We have 4 sets in the house.  2 are on a line that we split to when we added a TV into the kitchen and living room (neither had cable). Both were getting semi poor performance - so we put a radio shack booster on the line.  Cleared up all the reception problems - but it seems to block all the ondemand -- get error that box is offline and does not have a connection??

 

Any suggestions ??

 

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: why booster blocks ondemand?

Message 2 of 7
(2,025 Views)

I would say make sure you have good quality RG-6 coax and the proper Bi-Directional Splitter. Unless you are using a special bi-directional amplifier. You are going to have issues. I did find this one item that I had never though about.


 

Look on page 77 of the QIP-7232 P2 manual. How to bypass an amplifier using Diplexers. It allows the MOCA higher frequencies to bypass the amplifier. It could also be a problem with the MOCA signal not being strong enough even if it bypasses the amplifier. With your existing configuration it will block the IP (Internet) access the boxes use for the Guide data and all the other internet connected features such as Video on demand. Slight copywrite violation and it may get me in hot water but here it goes from the book. Page 77 of the QIP-7232 P2 Motorola Manual.

http://www22.verizon.com/NROneRetail/NR/rdonlyres/E2F4160A-9111-476F-9E96-600D6717EC36/0/Motorola_72...

diplexers.JPG

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2011

Re: why booster blocks ondemand?

Message 3 of 7
(2,011 Views)

Hi -

The amplifier is bi-directional - i will have to go into the attic tomorrow - not sure if that splitter is bi-directional or not.

Thanks for the help

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: why booster blocks ondemand?

Message 4 of 7
(2,005 Views)
Also make sure the splitter is 5-1000mhz and if you have any unused plug-ins, to cap them off or terminate them properly.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,000
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: why booster blocks ondemand?

Message 5 of 7
(1,924 Views)

 


@donnarey wrote:

Hi -

The amplifier is bi-directional - i will have to go into the attic tomorrow - not sure if that splitter is bi-directional or not.

Thanks for the help


 

Nope ... the amp is bi-directional only for the TV frequencies and the return channel for non-MoCA based systems (which is down in 47Mhz range).  The TV amp's you can buy from R/S and other places will not work on the FiOS system -- and many in fact will filter out frequencies about 900Mhz (much like using the wrong splitter type) -- you need to install a diplexer setup if you wish to use the amp.

 

Easy enough to prove -- pull the amp.   While your STB's might had degrade video performance and pixelization, they will probably show as "online" again for guide and VoD purposes.   

 

On a side note, within a typical home scenario, it should not be necessary to ever use an amp -- the signal is being originated at the ONT and is plenty strong to survive several splits a cable runs under a couple hundred feet.   If you are having issues, look for unterminated outlets in your cable plant (which can allow interference to enter the system) -- including splitters which don't have anyone on one of the outputs -- check all splitters to insure they are 5-1000Mhz rate, check all cable connections, and most importantly make sure you're using a good quality RG6 coax (and not that cheap stuff you get from R/S).   It is more likely you have a bad piece of cable somewhere in your setup than a need for an amp.

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: why booster blocks ondemand?

Message 6 of 7
(1,910 Views)

 


@donnarey wrote:

Hi -

The amplifier is bi-directional - i will have to go into the attic tomorrow - not sure if that splitter is bi-directional or not.

Thanks for the help


 

It is and it isn't bi-directional.  Standard cable systems use a return path that is below 50 MHz and for that the amp is bi-directional.  The MoCA communication on the FiOS system is above 900 MHz where the amplifier is not bi-directional and why it is causing you problems with anything that needs IP from the STB to your router.

 

Bottom line, unless the amplifier is rated as bi-directionf for MoCA or you use the diplexed setup referenced earlier it won't work.

 

EDIT: Darn you Lasagna, I guess I don't type fast enough Smiley Wink

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,000
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: why booster blocks ondemand?

Message 7 of 7
(1,845 Views)

 


@Keyboards wrote:

 

EDIT: Darn you Lasagna, I guess I don't type fast enough Smiley Wink


You must type really slow ... you were an hour behind my post (and I wasn't sure it made it before we had a tree fall down and take out the power to the neighborhood for about 2 hours right after I hit post).   Smiley Very Happy

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.