×

Switch Account

will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2019

will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 1 of 12
(4,911 Views)

I want to buy a soundbar for my TV, but I want to contol the soundbar volume with the FIOS remote control.  I am considering buying the JBL BarStudio soundbar that is advertised on Verizons accessory site:  https://www.verizon.com/home/accessories/jbl-bar-studio/

 

I have:

FIOS remote control VZP265v5 RC

STB Motorola QIP700 / 6386 / 010

TV Samsung UN3M5300AF

 

The JBL soundbar advertises that the volume works with "most TV remotes" but I want to confirm it works with the Verizon FIOS remote. I dont want multiple remotes. Does anyone have any experience? Thank you for your help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,858
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 2 of 12
(4,876 Views)

No. That remote only controls the TV and Set-top box. You will have to use the soundbar remote to control volume. If you want a universal remote. Logitech has remotes under $50

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,858
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 2 of 12
(4,877 Views)

No. That remote only controls the TV and Set-top box. You will have to use the soundbar remote to control volume. If you want a universal remote. Logitech has remotes under $50

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2019

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 3 of 12
(4,825 Views)

Thats what I feared. Thank you for confirming. Thanks

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-25-2018

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 4 of 12
(4,739 Views)

It will control a Receiver for home theater. 

 

Go to Menu > Settings > Voice Control > Fios Voice Remote > Program Voice Remote > Manual Setup. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,858
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 5 of 12
(4,731 Views)

@Miketee wrote:

It will control a Receiver for home theater. 

 

Go to Menu > Settings > Voice Control > Fios Voice Remote > Program Voice Remote > Manual Setup. 


Not in the original poster's case. You need FiOS TV One VMS4100 boxes with new bluetooth remote to control a receiver. 

They have a Moto 7100 HD STB and a P265 remote. That remote is IR and only programs to a TV.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-25-2018

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 6 of 12
(4,724 Views)

My bad, I've been reading so many FIOS TV ONE post that I overlooked that detail.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,858
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 7 of 12
(4,720 Views)

How do you like the FiOS TV One so far? A guy I work with has upgraded and says it is pretty good. Says the boxes are really fast. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-25-2018

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 8 of 12
(4,712 Views)

Tonight is my 4th night with the equipment. It's awesome and super fast like your friend stated. The picture quality is much better than the 1100. No more fuzziness and smearing. I have to get a 4k TV now just because. I heard the picture is terrific, even though most content is not in 4k, but it upscales. It's a must upgrade. The voice control on the remote is very precise as well.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-14-2019

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 9 of 12
(4,577 Views)

Are there directions to sync the sound bar with the remote. I have a wireless box.

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,858
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: will fios remote control change (control) the volume on a JBL soundbar?

Message 10 of 12
(4,563 Views)

Go to Menu > Settings > Voice Control > Fios Voice Remote > Program Voice Remote > Manual Setup then follow the instructions 

After you are done the TV setup part it will ask you if volume is controlled through a receiver or soundbar. Say yes and it will go through another setup for the soundbar.  

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.