×

Switch Account

would like to be able to transfer recorded dvr shows to new set top box

would like to be able to transfer recorded dvr shows to new set top box

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor njsonja
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 1 of 8
(23,711 Views)

every time i get a new set top box, because it breaks (3 times in 2 years) i lose all my recordings and my schedule of recordings and have to start from the beginning....is there an easy way to do this?  or something i'm not aware of?

 

thanks,

 

sonja

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎12-18-2012
Message 2 of 8
(23,695 Views)

I don't beleive you can transfer/save show or settings....

 

But lets talk about your 3 failures in 2 years.  This is not normal.  One suggestion.

These boxes generate heat, a lot of heat.  This heat must escape from the box or the electronics will overheat and fail.

Make sure the top of the box is clear (It is full of vent holes).

Do not set your TV on top of box or stack other boxes (such as dvd player) of top of set top box (STB).

All vents/holes must remain clear and unobstructed to allow the STB to remain cool.

If you place in entertainment center there must be space for airflow, especially if you have closing doors.  It best if the back of the entertainment center is open to allow heated air to escape.

 

Just a thought.....

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010
Message 3 of 8
(23,693 Views)

Maybe some other provider has dvr's that do this, but none that I know of.

 

This suggestion belongs in http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-Idea-Exchange/ct-p/ideaexchange .

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 4 of 8
(23,665 Views)

@njsonja wrote:

every time I get a new set top box ... I lose all my recordings and my schedule of recordings and have to start from the beginning....is there an easy way to do this? ... 


 

You cannot directly transfer content from one DVR to another, but you can certainly obtain permanent copies of recorded material  Is it easy?  Probably not.  Is it possible?  Definitely a "yes."  However you must re-record your content onto a permanent medium such as a recordable DVD. (or even a VHS tape), and that will require additional equipment such as a DVD or VHS recorder..

 

I use a combination device that contains both a DVD recorder and a VHS recorder, but it is not necessary to get elaborate.  Either will do the job..  Also you must do this in "real time" by actually playing the material on the STB and recording to DVD at the same time. 

You must connect your recorder to your STB using the output connections at the back of the STB.  Note that while you can view HD content from your STB (depending upon your model), you cannot in general record HD unless you resort to a Blu-Ray recorder.  The Blu-Ray recorder will also require either HDMI or other HD output from the STB.
Here are a few links to other posts in the forums that provide additional details and cover other aspects of the process:
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Transfer-recordings-from-regular-Samsung-d...
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Motorola-7232-Simultaneous-Component-and-S...
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Home-Networking/Cmon-Show-Us-Your-Network/m-p/446621
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Transferring-DVR-Recordings-to-DVD-or-Comp...
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Here-s-how-to-record-from-Verizon-DVR-to-D...
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
Message 5 of 8
(23,513 Views)

@njsonja wrote:

every time i get a new set top box, because it breaks (3 times in 2 years) i lose all my recordings and my schedule of recordings and have to start from the beginning....is there an easy way to do this?  or something i'm not aware of?

 

thanks,

 

sonja


Regarding moving the SERIES SCHEDULE (not recordings, mind you) from one DVR to another, there is an 'Export Series to the Cloud' feature you can use so you don't have to redo the list of shows with their days/times on the replacement DVR.

 

Please see the following forum thread for details:

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Transfer-DVR-Schedule-from-cloud-to-new-DV...

 

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor Babyblue1972
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-19-2018

I recently upgraded to a new set top box and want to transfer all my dvr recording and my set recordings to the new box without losing anything so can you please tell me how to do that. Thank you


 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,763
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

That function is not available.

You can export the series setups to new box (export from old to cloud and from cloud to new box).

But actual recordings will not transfer.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,368
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.