×

Switch Account

Accessing the internet on laptop when traveling away from home

Accessing the internet on laptop when traveling away from home

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor LaCornista
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-17-2009
Message 1 of 8
(10,429 Views)

I just replaced my Earthlink DSL with FiOS. My Earthlink plan included a provision of 20 hours' dial-up time monthly, to accommodate users traveling away from home and needing to access the Internet using dial-up on a hotel's phone line, for example.

 

When I'm working with my laptop away from my FiOS Internet at home, how do I gain Internet access? Does the plan have any provisions for this circumstance? I tried both Online Chat Support and Phone Support, and neither party understood what I was asking.

 

With all the business travelers out there, there must be a solution. I wish I had thought of this question prior to having my FiOS service installed if I will end up incurring additional charges every time I travel and use a hotel that doesn't have a complimentary broadband connection. Smiley Sad

 

Thanks for any insight into this issue.

 

Linda

7 REPLIES 7
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 2 of 8
(10,423 Views)

As far as I know, there is no provision for dialup access as part of FiOS.

 

But really, do you need that? I haven't stayed in a hotel or motel in at least 6 or 7 years that did not have high speed internet access. Some charged for it, but my company re-imbursed me for any expenses like that. And it looks to me that nearly all hotels now offer internet access for free, I know that the last several I stayed in did.

 

I really think you are creating a problem that just does not exist today.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248

Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 3 of 8
(10,420 Views)
According to a bunch of my agents, we do have a dial-up service you can add.  I don't know the specifics of it, so you would need to contact our business office to get more information on it.
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-13-2009
Message 4 of 8
(10,413 Views)
Yes, call into the business office and ask for the mobility package.
.,.
Contributor LaCornista1
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-17-2009
Message 5 of 8
(10,392 Views)

Thank you CharlesH and DzWR. I'll pursue this.

 

Kudos to you both. I'm unable to log in with the account I created when I posted this question to be able to give the official Kudos. For some reason, when I tried to sign in to the forum, it put me back at the verify your email address step, where the 3-digit code is sent and you have to click a link. Then it informed me to create a screen name. When I tried to use the screen name I already created (LaCornista) it told me that name and email address are already in use. I had to create this new screen name and attach it to my soon-to-be-defunct email address to be able to respond to you both. My next post will be to find the appropriate forum to figure out how to get to my original account.

 

Thanks again for your time.

Linda

Contributor LaCornista1
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-17-2009
Message 6 of 8
(10,390 Views)

Justin, I didn't see your message when I replied to the other 2 below. I don't travel often any more, but when I do, it's usually on my dime, so the hotels I've stayed in sometimes only have dial-up Smiley Happy That was more a general scenario. If I were to visit somewhere (like my mother's house, for example), were there's no computer, I'd just plug the phone line to my laptop and dial up using the included dial-up provision with my Earthlink DSL. It's unfortunate that FiOS users have to incur additional costs if they're away from home. I'd been with Earthlink for so many years, that I guess I assumed the additional dial-up provision was a courtesy extended by all the major providers of DSL/cable, etc.

 

So far I'm happy with the switch, just a little disappointed with this limitation.

 

Thanks for your input,

Linda

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 7 of 8
(10,382 Views)

Hi Linda,

 

I'm sorry, I mis-interpreted your post because of the reference to business travelers, I thought that was what you were doing. 

 

I am retired now so when I travel it is also on my own dime. But for whatever reason every hotel/motel I have stayed in has had free internet access, maybe I am just lucky  Smiley Very Happy

 

You can't convince your mother to get a computer and high speed internet? Just kidding; my mother for some reason had a facination with computers (maybe because I worked in the computer business for 37 years?) but she never, ever wanted one herself, despite all of my attempts to convince her she needed one.

 

Anyway, I did not know that Verizon had a dial-in service for extra cost. Good to know, although I am never going to use it, I have FiOS here and AT&T DSL at our lake house, and I don't travel any where near as much as I used to anyway. Have you checked into Verizon's dial-up service, what does it cost?

 

Good luck..

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248

Contributor LaCornista
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-17-2009
Message 8 of 8
(10,378 Views)

Hi, Justin,

 

I haven't checked into it yet. I don't expct to travel again until August, so I'll research in a few months. For now, I'm in TV-channel overload with my new FiOS TV Smiley Happy Time to focus on that for a bit!

 

Linda

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.