×

Switch Account

How much RAM does verizon internet have dedicated?

How much RAM does verizon internet have dedicated?

SOLVED
Reply
Copper Contributor Hardofhearin
Copper Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-12-2009
Message 1 of 8
(9,143 Views)

Using GT704WG hard wired to Gateway 3 Ghz 2048 MB DDR2. I-MAC wireless in another room. Verizon is ISP. I have 1300 MB free RAM after I log on. Less as I surf. (win xp sp 3).

I wouldn't normally think of Ram as an issue when they only used, to put 512 mb in these things and they ran alot faster.

 

7 REPLIES 7
Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 2 of 8
(9,142 Views)

How much RAM you are utilizing has nothing to do with your ISP. It has to do with your computer and the software you have running. If your browser is using too much memory, then you need to troubleshoot your browser.

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Copper Contributor Hardofhearin
Copper Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-12-2009
Message 3 of 8
(9,140 Views)

Verizon provides the software I am questioning, RAM usage?

Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 4 of 8
(9,137 Views)

Which software?

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Copper Contributor Hardofhearin
Copper Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-12-2009
Message 5 of 8
(9,118 Views)

Somegirl,

I thought it was software when i inserted the verizon set-up CD. The cooridination between the computers and the modem/router. The http://home.verizon.net  where i log in after set-up led me to believe the relationship exsisted. RAM usage.

Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 6 of 8
(9,114 Views)

The install CD configures your router for access, sets up your username, etc. It should not install any software, only help configure existing software. Verizon's DSL and FiOS services are "plug and play" with most computers.

 

If you have installed other software from Verizon (Verizon Internet Security Suite, etc) and it is using a lot of memory, then it may need to be re-configured.

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Copper Contributor Hardofhearin
Copper Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-12-2009
Message 7 of 8
(9,109 Views)

Is there a TEST i can use and determine the health of my RAM. Like most people i hate throwing away things when questioned, do i really want to delete software as it may affect the running of other applications. But with all them games, emails, viruses, pop-ups, etc. over four years of deleting anyways. I was determining if my system is slow? Or, is the internet network that is slow? And my computer is good?

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 8 of 8
(8,971 Views)

Win XP has a utility called 'Task Manager' that you can use to determine which (if any) programs are hogging processor capacity or RAM.

 

Right click on the Task Bar and select Task Manager. Click on the Applications tab to determine what programs are running; click on the Processes tab to determine which application processes are using processor capacity and RAM (Mem Usage).

 

BE CAREFUL. Tampering with any of the items displayed can cause serious system degradation --including failure to reboot/run.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.