Need technical information on FiOS installation
edcb
Enthusiast - Level 2

I'm writing in this forum in hope that a Verizon moderator can provide assistance.  Not to denigrate comments from others, but I've attempting to obtain these details from Verizon for a while...

I would very much like to subscribe to FiOS, but I have a few pre-installation issues to be resolved BEFORE I can 'sign-up'.  I 've contacted Verizon telephone technical support a couple of times and didn't receive adequate answers.  Nothing personal, but the Verizon associates simply do not have access to the information.

Our home is served by underground utilities.  Our existing copper POTS line is contained in a 1" inside diameter polyethylene (flexible) pipe from the curb box to the side of our house.  The existing NID is on the outside of the house.  I would estimate about 50' of conduit/cable.

Additional background and facts:

I'm an electrical/computer engineer for a major network equipment provider.  And I'm VERY particular (i.e. fussy) about any 'stuff' installed in the house.  POTS telephone is simple.  TV Cable is simple.  FiOS goes a step beyond and to provide it's converged Data/TV/Voice services it need to have a significant on-premises 'footprint'.  Much more than POTS, Cable, etc.  And I'm working to have it installed 'correctly', (in my opinion).  But I'm finding that Verizon doesn't have a good handle on the premises side.

For example, I have an equipment closet for telephone, network, secsys, etc.  I have a space available for the FiOS h/w., but I need answers as to the dimensions of the ONT, BBU, etc. and any required clearances.  So far my only answer is 'ask the installers'....  Not good.  Verizon must know this information..

For security consideration, I need to have the ONT installed in this equipment closet.  Or if it won't fit in the closet,  I need to accommodate the installation.  And it would be mounted somewhere in a finished room.