Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Reply
computerlover
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2009

Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Message 1 of 8
(9,778 Views)

I'm a computer savvy person, but Verizon is driving me crazy!  This is one I can't figure out and I can't get a live person for one instance of help!!  This is my problem:  I have had a verizon site for years, using site builder.  I had pages and pages, so I knew how to use it!  I deleted everything last year.  This month I began a new site with site builder and have created it, picked a design, added a picture, BUT - it will not add text!  The box is always grayed out.  This is so frustrating!  I can't find any reason why this problem exists, and of course, cannot get any help online.

 

Does anyone have any idea why I wouldn't be able to add text to my site builder site?  I'm losing my mind!  Help!  and thanks!  - Linda

7 REPLIES 7
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Message 2 of 8
(9,734 Views)
#1 What is the name and version of the browser that you have installed?

#2 Do you have any add-ons/plug-ins installed for the web browser?

b) If so, what are they?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

LindaKay
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-19-2009

Re: Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Message 3 of 8
(9,714 Views)
I'm also computerlover.  I have Firefox 3.0.10.  I did not install any add-ons or plug-ins.  I tried with IE also and had the same problem!
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Message 4 of 8
(9,663 Views)
#1 In IE, go to Tools -> Internet Options -> Security.

a) What is the Internet Zone set to?

b) What is Local intranet set to?

c) What is Trusted Sites set to?

d) What is restricted sites set to?

#2 In IE, also go to privacy.

What is that set to?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

LindaKay
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-19-2009

Re: Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Message 5 of 8
(9,646 Views)
It's Firefox, not IE (I'm Computerlover - but changed identities).  I've looked at all those settings and don't see any problem.  Even if I open IE, my settings are low for security - no pop up blocking....
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Message 6 of 8
(9,586 Views)

@LindaKay wrote:
It's Firefox, not IE (I'm Computerlover - but changed identities).  I've looked at all those settings and don't see any problem.  Even if I open IE, my settings are low for security - no pop up blocking....


Psst, Firefox uses IE Security Settings on Windows.

For example http://kb.mozillazine.org/Unable_to_save_or_download_files#Bypass_Windows_Security_Policy_check

--

Anyways, with my Live CD of PCLinuxOS 2007the site works fine here.

http://i40.tinypic.com/24doigz.jpg

-> Yeah, yeah the year is already 2009 and I have the 2007 version.

**

Without you getting another OS (Operating System), I see what I find in the IE Restricted zone that is preventing users (like you) on Windows from editing the web page like that.

I report back to you as soon as I can...

Good bye for now.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Message 7 of 8
(9,589 Views)
Upon reflection, it does not seem to be anything about IE's Security Settings.

Their site does not work with Fire Fox. I even tried the safe mode for Fire Fox.

Points to http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode

This is an example of how to do it under IE.















^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

LindaKay
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-19-2009

Re: Verizon Site Text Problem.... Help!

Message 8 of 8
(9,565 Views)
That was really nice of you, dslr, to go to all that trouble for me.  Thank you so much.  You're right!  Firefox just doesn't allow it!   I reset all my Internet Explorer settings back to factory settings and now it will finally allow me to enter the text.  So, when I want to work on my site, I must make sure I use IE and not Firefox.  Problem finally solved.  Thank you!
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title