Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Back to my Mac and VersaLink (Westell 7500) DSL modem

Reply
tonyc3
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-16-2009

Back to my Mac and VersaLink (Westell 7500) DSL modem

Message 1 of 6
(8,858 Views)

I am trying to get Back to my Mac working with my VersaLink Verizon DSL modem/wireless router.  I turned on Universal Plug and Play (UPnP), but BTMM is still not working.  What other setting do I need to adjust or is it not possible with this DSL modem/router?

Thanks. 

5 REPLIES 5
atiar
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

Re: Back to my Mac and VersaLink (Westell 7500) DSL modem

Message 2 of 6
(8,709 Views)
I would like to know that answer to this as well. Thanks!
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,039
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Back to my Mac and VersaLink (Westell 7500) DSL modem

Message 3 of 6
(8,672 Views)
While I do not have a Mac...

#1 Do you have any other router involved behind this 7500?

#2 Do you have any software firewalls installed?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

tonyc3
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-16-2009

Re: Back to my Mac and VersaLink (Westell 7500) DSL modem

Message 4 of 6
(8,628 Views)

No other router is involved.

 

The Mac does have system firewall software on, but the ports needed are open.  The computer itself reports that Back To My Mac is happy with the configuration, yet the computer is not accessible. 

Provider7
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎10-11-2008

Re: Back to my Mac and VersaLink (Westell 7500) DSL modem

Message 5 of 6
(8,618 Views)
If you plug the Mac directly in to the modem via Ethernet, can you connect?
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,039
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Back to my Mac and VersaLink (Westell 7500) DSL modem

Message 6 of 6
(8,614 Views)
Are the ports in fact open from the net?

This means at any one of the following sites:

grc.com shields up

http://www.dyndns.com/support/tools/openport.html

http://www.whatsmyip.org/ports/

http://www.canyouseeme.org/

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.