×

Switch Account

Cannot Connect to A Website

Cannot Connect to A Website

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor ky331
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-19-2011
Message 51 of 77
(898 Views)

Corrine,

YES, I can access the Mobia Systems site.   I replied to your PM, and included a tracert there...

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-23-2011
Message 52 of 77
(896 Views)

Thank you! 

 

I gave Aaron the Tracert info.  Since he is on the west coast, it will be several hours before he is home from work.  It is more complicated since Verizon moved out of his area and seems to be pretty much on the east coast.  If there were Verizon customers in his area, it would be easier for him to test. 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 53 of 77
(890 Views)

I see a page titled "Online Inventory &^ Manufacturing..." when I open that IP address. No problems there. Here's a trace.

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\>tracert 74.55.178.26

Tracing route to 1a.b2.374a.static.theplanet.com [74.55.178.26]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.3.1
  2     9 ms     8 ms     9 ms  10.15.3.1
  3    10 ms     9 ms     8 ms  so-1-1-0-0.BUFF-CORE-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.13.77]
  4    20 ms    21 ms    19 ms  as4-0.NY5030-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.20.106]
  5    21 ms    21 ms    21 ms  0.ae5.BR3.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.16.9]
  6    21 ms    21 ms    20 ms  204.255.168.194
  7    66 ms    65 ms    66 ms  The-Planet.TenGigabitEthernet2-3.ar2.HOU1.gblx.net [64.214.196.58]
  8    63 ms    62 ms    65 ms  e3-2.ibr02.hstntx2.networklayer.com [70.87.253.169]
  9    65 ms    63 ms    64 ms  te2-5.dsr02.hstntx2.networklayer.com [74.55.252.254]
 10    69 ms    68 ms    68 ms  po16.dsr01.hstntx1.networklayer.com [70.87.253.106]
 11    64 ms    63 ms    64 ms  po1.car05.hstntx1.networklayer.com [207.218.223.18]
 12    64 ms    64 ms    64 ms  1a.b2.374a.static.theplanet.com [74.55.178.26]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\>

 

 

Honestly, I have seen a very similar issue now that I think about it before with an IP address to a game server I used to rent before I started using my own server to run game servers, HTTP servers and whatever else off of it. Was playing one night, the next day on the game server's forum people were complaining about the IP being unreachable. I don't remember if the problem persisted across a single ISP or what, but I never got a clear explanation as to what happened with that IP. It seemed to have just fallen into a blackhole (Too much GMod Spacebuild, lol) and never returned for the affected users duration we had the server. Didn't work on the issue with the GSP a ton since I was in the process of ordering a server with SingleHop getting a handful of different IP addresses to use, anyways.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-23-2011
Message 54 of 77
(883 Views)

Thank you, also!  I've passed the info along.

 

Aaron did clear all the blocked IPs from the firewall -- just in case that should make a difference.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-26-2009
Message 55 of 77
(866 Views)

Hello Corrine,

 

Yes, I am able to access Mobia Solutions.  Again, thank you, Smith6612, ky331 and everyone else for all your efforts in this matter.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 56 of 77
(865 Views)

@Corrine wrote:

Thank you, also!  I've passed the info along.

 

Aaron did clear all the blocked IPs from the firewall -- just in case that should make a difference.


Doesn't seem to have done anything, unfortuantely 😞

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-26-2009
Message 57 of 77
(864 Views)

Please disregard my mistake.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-23-2011
Message 58 of 77
(826 Views)

Still no luck resolving the problem.  ky331 successfully accessed the single site living at 74.55.178.35, which is an IP bound to the same network adapter on the box where 74.55.178.34 resides.

 

I've sent Anthony_VZ traceroutes from the server to two different Verizon IP addresses. 

Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-26-2009
Message 59 of 77
(813 Views)

Corrine, thank you for that update.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 60 of 77
(801 Views)

I can reach the Ohio Rollercoaster site as well. So anyways, now that we see how it should be routing, it's a matterof figuring out which router along the line is throwing a fit to the IP 74.55.178.34.

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\>tracert www.greatohiocc.org

Tracing route to greatohiocc.org [74.55.178.35]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.3.1
  2    29 ms    14 ms    40 ms  10.15.3.1
  3    40 ms    23 ms     9 ms  so-1-1-0-0.BUFF-CORE-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.13.73]
  4    85 ms    47 ms     *     as4-0.NY325-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.20.104]
  5    29 ms    28 ms    21 ms  0.xe-3-0-0.BR3.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.2.241]
  6    74 ms    33 ms    46 ms  204.255.168.194
  7   104 ms   144 ms     *     The-Planet.TenGigabitEthernet2-3.ar2.HOU1.gblx.net [64.214.196.58]
  8   110 ms   133 ms    99 ms  e3-2.ibr02.hstntx2.networklayer.com [70.87.253.169]
  9   111 ms   100 ms   109 ms  te2-5.dsr02.hstntx2.networklayer.com [74.55.252.254]
 10    78 ms    94 ms   202 ms  po16.dsr01.hstntx1.networklayer.com [70.87.253.106]
 11    97 ms    89 ms   106 ms  po1.car05.hstntx1.networklayer.com [207.218.223.18]
 12   127 ms     *      167 ms  res.manageyourpc.com [74.55.178.35]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\>

 

 

Yes I know my latency/jitter is bad. There are others online here. Even if my last trace was posted up in mistake due to the server being incorrect, the route hasn't really changed significantly, which is worth pointing out. The only changes in routes that are noticable are due to load balancing across links.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.