Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

SOLVED
Reply
wk21030
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-13-2010

Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 1 of 13
(3,926 Views)

I have my xbox 360 hardwired, i run through the tests for xbox live and it comes to the internet portion and it gives me a message about my NAT being moderate I have Highspeed internet is there a reason why i'm not hosting? could it be because it's High Speed and not FIOS? I asked in chat and they said that Verizon residential cannot have a static IP address and that's why i can't host. But i've found chat isn't that reputable.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
wk21030
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-13-2010

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 13 of 13
(1,295 Views)

actually what i did was this.

 

I set my IP address up in my XBOX as manually.

 

I went into my router and set the static IP address to the xbox voila it worked.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 I tried the DMZ and that screwed me up even more. the only pain in the butt part is having to test every time and not going straight into live.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 2 of 13
(3,884 Views)

#1 What is the brand and model of your modem?

 

#2 What is the brand and model of your router?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

wk21030
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-13-2010

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 3 of 13
(3,849 Views)

Westell VersaLink 7500 Gateway
It's a modem/router combo.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 4 of 13
(3,833 Views)

pre-check list for allowing user from the net to connect you:

 

#1 The Default Gateway on your computer is the same IP Address as the Westell VersaLink 7500?

 

For example, if on Windows XP

 

a) Go to Start -> Run.

 

b) Type in cmd and press enter.

 

c) In the new window, called the command prompt, type in ipconfig /all and press enter.

 

#2 In the router go to Advanced -> Private LAN

 

#3 What is the Starting and Ending IP Address?

 

#4 In the router go to Advanced -> Universal Plug and Play

 

#5 If you do not have at least two game consoles behind this two router, turn off UPnP in the router.

 

By game console, a special type of computer with no keyboard or mouse (and it/they are usually connected to a TV).

 

#6 In the router go to System Monitoring  -> Gateway Status

 

#7 With another web browser Window OR Tab, go to https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

 

#8 Below the text that says The text below might uniquely identify you on the Internet is an IP Address.

 

#9 In the web browser window or tab, that is still looking in the router, you should see that same IP Address.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Libra
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-11-2010

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 5 of 13
(3,818 Views)

Man HappyPlease let me know if you are able to fix it.

 

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 6 of 13
(3,794 Views)

 


@Libra wrote:

Man HappyPlease let me know if you are able to fix it.

 


 

Yes I can, if you follow my directions.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

wk21030
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-13-2010

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 7 of 13
(3,777 Views)

now i did all of that some of it is still confusing. I'm in private lan and there are two different IP addresses, should they be? should i change them? i enabled the UPNP i did the IP config but what do i change besides the UPNP? step 8 and 9 i see the same IP address. sorry to keep asking questions. I'm just not too sure what to do.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 8 of 13
(3,673 Views)

#1 At this time, do not adjust the Starting and Ending IP Address.

 

#2 What are they? For example 192.168.1.15 as the Starting IP and 192.168.1.47 as the Ending IP Address..

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

wk21030
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-13-2010

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 9 of 13
(3,539 Views)

are you asking what the IP address' are? i'm not home and i don't feel comfortable giving those out on here. I'm not too familiar with IP address' and if you can access my router from your location or its only a local thing.  Bottom line is i did the changes but my NAT is still moderate.

 

edit: Not to mention when i spoke with the woman at verizon she told me that they would charge me to open the NAT and that the manfacturer did this as a security measure. If i have my own security measures shouldn't i be able to open the NAT as i please w/o having to pay a nominal fee?

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,071
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cannot Host in Xbox Live online multiplayer

Message 10 of 13
(3,463 Views)

 


@wk21030 wrote:

I don't feel comfortable giving those out on here. I'm not too familiar with IP address' and if you can access my router from your location or its only a local thing.


It is a local IP Address. The only people who can access those IP Address(es), are users who are behind your router.

 

 

But to save time, I use that example Starting and Ending IP Address.

 

#1 On the Xbox setup a Static IP

 

http://portforward.com/networking/staticip-xbox360.htm

 

#2 The Statis of it, can be either:

 

a) Above 1 but below 15

 

b) OR above 47 but below 255

 

For example 192.168.1.6

 

#3 In the router forward to the IP Address that you setup on the Xbox.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title