Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Choking?

Reply
gordonfitch
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-21-2009

Choking?

Message 1 of 17
(7,925 Views)

I have a Westell 327W hooked up to three computers (Linux, Mac, Windows XP).  I have noticed that when I upload any significant amount of data, even at the modest rate of 60kb/s, downloads from the Internet grind to a virtual halt.  Pings which take 25 ms with nothing else running and 200 ms while a download is running take 9000 ms (nine seconds!) or more while an 60 kb/s upload is running.  Now, I am supposed to be getting at least 128kb/s up and 700-something kb/s down.  It is clear that some kind of choking is going on.  Local experimentation shows that it is not the modem -- the modem can sustain much faster speeds locally in both directions simultaneously.  So what's the story?  60 up OR 400 down, when 128 AND 700-1000 were advertised?  (I have never observed a faster download from the Net than 420 kb/s, but I'll complain about that some other time.)  If Verizon is deliberately choking their interfaces to discourage file-sharing or doing a Comcast-like packet-sniffing number, I'd like to know so I can make the appropriate trouble about it.

 

 

16 REPLIES 16
dslr595148
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,045
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Choking?

Message 2 of 17
(7,839 Views)

Post your modem status/stats from your router.

 

If you have no idea of what I mean.. Log-in to the router and show the first screen that you see.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

gordonfitch
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-21-2009

Re: Choking?

Message 3 of 17
(7,827 Views)

I see three panels.  Sorry about the possibly weird formatting.

Third panel is links to, like, Westell etc. etc.

 

  First panel:

 
Gateway Status  
GO!

Your Gateway is Ready for Internet Access     Broadband Connection   Internet Status:  Connected DSL link:  Connected Speed (Down/Up):  3355 Kbits/sec by 863 Kbits/sec Connection Type:  PPP Username:      IP Address:  71.190.3.11  


      Unknown Name:   Connection Type:   Unknown

IP Address:s

 

-- second panel -

 

 

Computer Name: etaoin0
Connection Type:   Ethernet IP Address: 192.168.1.47   Access Device
Computer Name: GORDON-FITCHS-P
Connection Type:   Ethernet IP Address: 192.168.1.46


Unknown Name:   Connection Type:   Unknown IP Address:

192.168.1.38

 

 

dslr595148
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,045
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Choking?

Message 4 of 17
(7,804 Views)

Does that three panels, look something like this screen

 

a) http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Actiontec/MI-424-WR/1st_SMTP_Server.htm

 

?

 

If not, how about this screen

 

http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Actiontec/GT704-WGv2/1st_SMTP_Server.htm

 

?

 

 

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

gordonfitch
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-21-2009

Re: Choking?

Message 5 of 17
(7,786 Views)

The second has the greatest resemblance.

 

 

dslr595148
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,045
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Choking?

Message 6 of 17
(7,782 Views)

#1 Ok, try System Monitoring -> Advanced Status -> Transciever Stats.

 

#2 Try Status -> Advanced Status -> Transciever Stats

 

#3 or Try Utilities ?

 

#4 In the router, go to Advanced Setup.

 

#5 In there, go to IP Address Distribution.

 

#6 What is the DHCP range?

 

#7 Back in Advanced Setup, go to UPnP.

 

#8 If this feature is on, turn that feature off.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

gordonfitch
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-21-2009

Re: Choking?

Message 7 of 17
(7,710 Views)

I am away from my modem right now.  I will be back on Sept. 30, when I will revive this

thread, try the diagnostics that have been suggested, and perform some additional

experimentation.  So far it seems clear that the modem can handle over 700 kbs

bidirectionally when communicating locally, but as soon as any upload traffic occurs

in the range of 60 kbs, down traffic slows to a crawl, so something's going on.

 

gordonfitch
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-21-2009

Re: Choking?

Message 8 of 17
(7,606 Views)

In "IP Address Distribution" the Private LAN DHCP Settings are:

start: 192.168.1.15

end: 192.168.1.47

DHCP Lease Time: 1:0:0:0

 

I observe that addresses are assigned high to low.

 

UPnP appears to be turned off (box is unchecked).

 

dslr595148
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,045
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Choking?

Message 9 of 17
(7,593 Views)

In your router when forwarding you are forwarding to some IP Address where the last octet, as it called, is not 0, 1, any number from 15 to 47 OR any number above 255?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

gordonfitch
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-21-2009

Re: Choking?

Message 10 of 17
(7,556 Views)

Not sure what you're after here.  As far as I know (in this universe) the highest possible

value for an octet is 255.  I do not do any forwarding manually -- whatever takes place

is the business of the router-modem and whatever processes it's talking to in one of

my machines.    On the local side of the router, I have never

observed an address outside of the range 192.168.1.40 - 192.168.1.47 and of course

192.168.1.1 which is the address through which I talk to the router itself.

 

For the reasons I gave before I doubt that the router is having a problem. 

I suspect that the problem is with whatever it's talking to on the Verizon

side.  Otherwise I would think local traffic would exhibit the same pattern

of apparent interference.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.