Connecting more than one computer to DSL

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Connecting more than one computer to DSL

Message 1 of 9
(8,466 Views)

Hello, I'm hoping someone can help me out here since I'm not very tech savvy at all.

I currently have Verizon DSL, I have my desktop hooked up to a Westell 6100F. I have another desktop upstairs that I would also like to be able to use to go online. I know I need a router, but I'm wondering which is the best kind? And will I need anything else to be able to hook up both computers to the internet? I also might be getting a laptop in the near future, will that change what kind of router I will need?

Thanks to anyone who can help! 🙂

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ

Re: Connecting more than one computer to DSL

Message 2 of 9
(8,421 Views)

#1 Before doing anything else, let us check if your modem is a modem combo in router mode. You will understand latter on what this means, when we get there...

#2 Check the IP Address, Subnet Mask, Default Gateway, and DNS Server(s) on your computer.

As how to do this, will depend on your OS and Version. Since most people that I know use Windows XP, these are the directions for that OS and Version.

a) Go to Start -> Run.

b) Type in cmd and press enter.

c) In the new window, called the command prompt, type in ipconfig /all and press enter.

#2 With your web browser go to http://www.whatsmyip.org/

#4 Please for security/privacy reasons, only anwer my question - DO NOT post the IP Address.

Is any of the IP Address(es) on your computer the same as the IP Address on that site?

--

#4 Do you want to use Wireless for this laptop?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Message 3 of 9
(8,402 Views)

Hi, thanks for replying.