×

Switch Account

DNS: Unknown host: 'NAME.myhome.westell.com' - Westell 327W Modem/Router

DNS: Unknown host: 'NAME.myhome.westell.com' - Westell 327W Modem/Router

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-26-2009
Message 1 of 9
(26,107 Views)

System Monitoring, Advanced Status, System Logging. Then Connection Log.

 

*********************************************************************

Connection Entries
       

CURRENT MODEM STATUS
DSL Modem Status....... Up
PPP Session Status...... Up
Connection Type......... PPPoE
Time set from............. Local
Time since last boot.... 0 days, 12 hrs: 6 mins: 52 secs
EVENTS
**********************************************************************
Events are listed starting from the most recent. **********************************************************************
WED JUL 01 11:53:41 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:53:38 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:53:36 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:53:33 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:52:41 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:52:38 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:52:36 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:52:33 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:51:41 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:51:38 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:51:36 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:51:33 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:50:41 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:50:38 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:48:28 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'dad.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:51 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'wpad.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:51 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'wpad.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:41 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:38 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:36 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:33 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:20 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'isatap.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:18 2009 DNS: Unknown host: '_ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:18 2009 DNS: Unknown host: '_ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.myhome.westell.com'
WED JUL 01 11:47:17 2009 DNS: Unknown host: 'dad.myhome.westell.com'
end of diagnostic log file

***************************************************************************************************

 

Why am I getting all these unknown hosts? Sherry.myhome.westell.com, dad.myhome.westell.com, _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.myhome.westell.com, wpad.westell.com ????

 

The computer runs Windows Vista Home Basic. Its the only computer hooked into the 327W, so it cant be a different computer on the network. It has IPv4 and IPv6 enabled for some reason.... Its on the internet and works good, I just cant figure out why its giving me all these unknown host errors and filling the log up!

 

SCREENSHOT HERE   <----------

Message Edited by h22turbo on 07-01-2009 10:24 AM
Message Edited by h22turbo on 07-01-2009 10:24 AM
8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,808
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Now I am confused.

In your other thread

http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board/message?board.id=High_Speed_Internet&message.id=2557

you clearly said that


I have 4 computers behind the Westell 327W Modem/Router. 2 Windows XP, 1 Vista, and the Ubuntu linux server.


As to why the computer has IPv6 and IPv4 on it, it is to by default because MS put it in there.

As to why MS put it in there, because that is the future ( a lot larger IP Address space ).

I state one of my sources: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPv4_address_exhaustion

-

You are welcome to disable/uninstall IPv6, as long you know how to re-enable it/re-install it...

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-26-2009

I do have 4 computers hooked in to the Westell 327W.

 

Verizon DSL ----> Westell 327W ---> 1 Windows Vista PC, 1 Ubuntu Server PC, and 2 Windows XP PCs.

 

I can clear the log in System Monitoring, Advanced Status, System Logging, Connection log

 

Turn the Windows Vista PC on.... 

 

Check the Connection log again.... and its filled with "DNS: Unknown host: 'NAME.myhome.westell.com"

 

I also get other names.... like name1.myhome.westell.com, name2.westell.com, DNS: Unknown host: '_LDAP._TCP', and a few others.....

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,808
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Ok.

#1 Is wireless in the router turned on? This should be somewhere at Wireless Settings..

#2 Are there any computers that use wireless at your location?

#3 What level of wireless security is the router set to? This should be somewhere at Wireless Settings..

#4 When you turned on the Vista computer, where the other computers on?

#5 Do you use this Vista on any other network besides behind this router?

Wi-Fi Hot Spot (for example Start bucks), Work, School...

^^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-26-2009

1) Wireless is OFF

 

2) 0 computers use wireless at my location (I've never used it)

 

3) Security is set to WEP, SSID Broadcast = ON, MAC Authentication = OFF

 

4) The Windows Vista PC was the only computer turned on and the only computer hooked in to the 327W

 

5) No... only my home network. It uses no other networks

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-26-2009

I just disabled IPv6 on the Vista PC. I powered off / rebooted the modem and Vista PC, checked the logs, and its still giving me DNS: unknown hosts.

 

***************************************************************************

 

All Entries

       

CURRENT MODEM STATUS
        DSL Modem Status.......  Up
PPP Session Status...... Up
        Connection Type.........  PPPoE
        Time set from.............  Daylight Savings
        Time since last boot....  0 days, 0 hrs: 15 mins: 26 secs
EVENTS
**********************************************************************
Events are listed starting from the most recent.
**********************************************************************
THU JUL 02 23:58:56 2009
    DNS: Unknown host: 'isatap.myhome.westell.com'

THU JUL 02 23:58:54 2009
    DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'

THU JUL 02 23:58:53 2009
    DNS: Unknown host: 'wpad.westell.com'

THU JUL 02 23:58:53 2009
    DNS: Unknown host: 'wpad.myhome.westell.com'

THU JUL 02 23:58:40 2009
    DNS: Unknown host: 'forums.verizon.net'

THU JUL 02 23:58:02 2009
    DNS: Unknown host: 'Sherry.myhome.westell.com'

end of diagnostic log file

 

*************************************************************************

 

What I dont get is the Administrator Account (Control Panel, User Accounts) on the Vista PC is named Raymond. There's only 2 accounts... Raymond (Administrator) and Guest Accouny (Turned OFF).

 

Under Control Panel, System.... The Computer Name, Domain, and Workgroup Settings:

 

Computer Name = Dad

Full Computer Name = dad.myhome.westell.com

Computer Description = Dad

Workgroup = WORKGROUP

 

******************************************************************************

 

Here's what I get when I do ipconfig /all

 

C:\Users\sherry>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dad
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : myhome.westell.com
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-21-CF-AC-EE
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.44(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 02, 2009 11:55:37 PM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, July 03, 2009 11:55:37 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
                                       192.168.1.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

 

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:3017:3466:3f57:fed3(Pref
erred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3017:3466:3f57:fed3%9(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

 

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : myhome.westell.com
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.myhome.westell.com
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\sherry>

 

I dont know where the C:\Users\SHERRY is coming from.... it should be C:\Users\Raymond ?

 

...and I dont know why it has all the Tunnel adapters either.... when I had IPv6 enabled... it listed more tunnel adapters than that!

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,808
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 7 of 9
(26,001 Views)
I am still not sure either, but let us try something.

#1 Go to http://www.portforward.com/networking/static-vista.htm

#2 Follow the directions listed there from Step 5 to Step 10.

At Step 11, just enter in the DNS Servers of 151.197.0.39 and 151.197.0.38 into the area that says to "Use the following DNS Server Addresses".

At this time: Please DO NOT change from "Obtain an IP address automatically" to "Use the following IP Address".

After you do that, and you reboot of the computer if need be.

Does stop what is going on in the logs?
Message Edited by dslr595148 on 07-03-2009 12:46 PM

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-26-2009

I already had static IPs setup on all 4 of the computers on my network and disabled the DHCP server on the 327W.

 

I dont remember what the problem was, but I did fix it! I'm not at home or I'd post it...

 

It was something in the Control Panel, Network Connections, IPv4 Protocol, Advanced, then DNS Tab

 

It was one of the boxes about "Use primary DNS suffix when registering DNS name" or something like that....

 

Thanks for all the help

 

Even though the forums take a little longer... I think I'll start using them for tech support. I've called the 1800 customer service number a few other times, but those people wouldnt know what DNS, IPv4, or Ubuntu even was! lol Sorry Verizon, but you guys need better (more knowledgeable) people for the 1800 Tech Support! Ohhh... you can get better tech support from the 1800 #, but you have to pay for it! lol

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,808
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
I am glad that you got it solved 🙂

I have no idea of what setting, however you used..

Sample screen shot from my XP computer.

http://i44.tinypic.com/2gse42h.jpg

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.