Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

SOLVED
Reply
gklott
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-30-2012

DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 1 of 9
(22,792 Views)

Just received new DLink DSL-2750B gateway. The documentation (Verizon User Manual) does not address WAN modes.

 

The DSL-2750B works as expected in DHCP WAN ETHoA mode VPI=0, VCI=35, Encapsulation=LLC. LAN is via NAT behind  192.168.1.1.

 

I need to use my Cisco RV04 VPN router for teleworking.

 

When I connect the RV04 behind it on the LAN, the RV04 gets a LAN address, and devices behind the RV04 can access internet find. However, I need the RV04 to get the public IP address from Verizon and act as the gateway/router for the entire LAN.

 

On the WAN DSL connection configuration page, there is a WAN setting called "LAN-WAN Bridged Ethernet Connection over ATM (Bridged ETHoA)".  In this mode, the DSL-2750B should act only as a DSL/Ethernet Bridge, and the Cisco RV04 would get the new IP address from Verizon using DHCP. There is no mention of this mode anywhere in the Verizon documentation.

 

However, when I set it in this mode, the RV04 is never able to revew the DHCP address from Verizon.

 

The RV04 worked before, and it works well on other INTENTER connections.

 

Am I configuring the DSL-2750B correctly to use a third-party router?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,556
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 7 of 9
(22,738 Views)

You're welcome! Glad to hear it is up and running.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,556
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 2 of 9
(22,783 Views)

Are you in a DHCP or a PPPoE area with Verizon? If the option you're selecting is in fact the bridge mode, your Cisco Gateway needs to be using PPPoE in most of Verizon's service areas if your modem uses a username and password to connect up to Verizon. If you are actually in a DHCP area however, you need to wait a few hours or release your Public IP address from the D-Link before trying to connect the Cisco appliance.

gklott
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-30-2012

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 3 of 9
(22,769 Views)

I am in a DHCP (WAN ETHoA) area. That's what the configuration when working properly. When I received the MODEM, I had to change the WAN configuration from PPoE to DHCP. 

 

I had waited 30 minutes, but now have the 2750B off and will wait for several (>2 hours). If not I will call Verizon and have them release the IP address.

 

Thanks.

gklott
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-30-2012

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 4 of 9
(22,767 Views)

I did try to "release" the WAN IP address from the Cisco, but it would not get a renewal.

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,556
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 5 of 9
(22,762 Views)

You're welcome. Sounds like you have everything under control 🙂 Let us know how things go.

 

Another tip that has worked in the past is to try cloning the MAC address of the device that last held your Public IP. For example, cloning the MAC of the D-Link for the Cisco to send off would probably give you an IP. But, whichever option works for you!

gklott
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-30-2012

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 6 of 9
(22,741 Views)

After waiting 3 hours, turned on 2750B, then turned on RV04. All worked as expected.

 

Thanks.

 

73/gus

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,556
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 7 of 9
(22,739 Views)

You're welcome! Glad to hear it is up and running.

View solution in original post

matthewberardi
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-05-2013

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 8 of 9
(20,428 Views)

Hello, I'd like to do the same but I am in a pppoe area.

Do I really need to set up my own pppoe client? is it not possible to bridge the virtual wan with my router (leaving pppoe termination the responsibility of the modem)?

Does anyone know the pppoe password? It's not mine. The username is "newdsl" and the modem came knowing the password.

 

 

Thanks a lot,

Matt

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10,497
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: DSL-2750B LAN-WAN Bridge Mode

Message 9 of 9
(5,083 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.