Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

DSL still runs at 768down/128up even though I have 3Mbps down/768 up plan

Reply
djatomikbomb
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

DSL still runs at 768down/128up even though I have 3Mbps down/768 up plan

Message 1 of 7
(8,925 Views)
Why is this.. I called verizon and they told me the service was upgraded and it shows as 3Mbps/768 on the verizon site, but I checked my modem's control panel and it says the lower speed tier... They said I was provisioned for 3Mbps DSL and I just don't see it.. Sould I give Verizon another call or try resetting my modem??
6 REPLIES 6
Kepler
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2008

Re: DSL still runs at 768down/128up even though I have 3Mbps down/768 up plan

Message 2 of 7
(8,910 Views)
I would try resetting your modem, djatomikbomb.  Just shut your modem off for 30 seconds.  Let me know how that goes.
Paul
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-31-2008

Re: DSL still runs at 768down/128up even though I have 3Mbps down/768 up plan

Message 3 of 7
(8,890 Views)

You are checking your speed at the modem control panel only or also via a test? Check it at http://www2.verizon.net/micro/speedtest/hsi/  and if the modem reset doesn't do it, you could request a repair...

nukefixer
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-13-2008

Re: DSL still runs at 768down/128up even though I have 3Mbps down/768 up plan

Message 4 of 7
(8,696 Views)
Did shutting the modem work?
Seska
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-15-2008

Re: DSL still runs at 768down/128up even though I have 3Mbps down/768 up plan

Message 5 of 7
(8,234 Views)
You probably figured this out but the modem itself may be only capable of 768. See if you can download the specs for it...
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: DSL still runs at 768down/128up even though I have 3Mbps down/768 up plan

Message 6 of 7
(8,224 Views)

http://www.speedtest.net/

 

If it's a 327W it's capable of 3MBPS

 

 

 

 


Message Edited by bamboo on 09-15-2008 10:15 AM
Anthona
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-05-2008

Re: DSL still runs at 768down/128up even though I have 3Mbps down/768 up plan

Message 7 of 7
(8,189 Views)
I just went to that link and waited more than the usual 2 minutes to complete and nothing comes across. Also, tried to open verizon.net in my firefox browser and nothing shows up there, it did fine yesterday ..but it opens just fine in my AOL browser...go figure.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.