Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Reply
AeroV1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-11-2009

Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 1 of 22
(7,715 Views)
Been having this problem now for a few weeks after a period of nasty storms. Every 2 to 3 hours I get disconnected for about 30 seconds. Every day and night. It comes back up with no problem but it's been getting really annoying. The green light goes out and the one next to it slowly flashes and then it goes solid again and the light next to it comes back on. Using a Westell 327W. Any help would be appreciated.
21 REPLIES 21
Telcoguru
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 2 of 22
(7,694 Views)
Please post your modems stats.
AeroV1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-11-2009

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 3 of 22
(7,677 Views)
How do I do that please. Sorry, don't know to much about those kind of things.
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,077
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 4 of 22
(7,670 Views)
After you log-in to this Westell 327W, and show the first screen that you see.

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

AeroV1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-11-2009

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 5 of 22
(7,662 Views)

Gateway Status  
GO!

Your Gateway is Ready for Internet Access     

Broadband Connection  

Internet Status:  Connected

DSL link:  Connected Speed (Down/Up):  3360 Kbits/sec by 864 Kbits/sec

Connection Type:  PPP   

IP Address:  68.238.88.35

 

took out the username for security reasons (not sure if I'm supposed to or not). Hope this is the right stuff.

Telcoguru
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 6 of 22
(7,662 Views)
The stats should be on this page. http://192.168.1.1/transtat.htm
AeroV1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-11-2009

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 7 of 22
(7,630 Views)
I can't remember the username/password since it's been over a year since I've had a similar problem. Don't know what happened to the paper I wrote it down on either. I usually save those kind of things too. Is it ok to reset and use the factory default username/password?.
alex_lee
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-07-2009

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 8 of 22
(7,614 Views)
i think what telco guro wants to know is the status of the lights on ur modem whenver internet is down, try to take note of whch light is flashing / off when INTERNET is down
AeroV1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-11-2009

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 9 of 22
(7,600 Views)
When I'm connected the DSL green light is solid and the internet light next to it slowly blinks every couple seconds. Now when I lose the internet, the internet light disappears and the DSL light slowly blinks. Things go back to normal after about 30 seconds to a minute.
Telcoguru
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Disconnects every 2-3 hours

Message 10 of 22
(7,527 Views)
You need the user name and password to get the modem stats. I'm trying to see how much noise the DSL is getting.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title