Getting Verizon to update their C/O
LennyP

Hi,

I'm looking for advice on how to get Verizon to update their C/O equipment regardless of their planned sale of all land services.

I live out in the country and Verizon claimed the line quality limits me to 760/130.  Being an engineer, I tested the line and it will

suppor upwards of 3Mb downstream and 2Mb up.  After much hassle, I finally spoke with a supervisor -- in the billing office -- who

did some exploration and agreed it was not an issue with line quality buy with my local C/O.  

I am essentially stuck with Verizon DSL as trees block any satellite views, there is no wireless service, and there is no cable; 

Verizon has a monopoly on services in my neighborhood.  Many Verizon customers iaround where I live are in the same boat and

they require true high-speed internet for their businesses. 

Has anyone successfully managed to get Verizon to upgrade their equipment and if so how?  Any advice on how to get Verizon 

to care about it's customers?

0 Likes
Re: Getting Verizon to update their C/O
nkplantz

hi  We are in the same shape here in IN.  I pay $150.00 for the slowest service ever.  I use my Blackberry as my modem so I can get broadband.  It is really slow and really sucks to pay that much for BB service.

kp

0 Likes
Telcoguru
Master - Level 1
Verizon's equipment doesn't have much to do with the speed of the DSL service. It is your distance from the Central Office that effects speed. The further away you are the slower the service unless there is a remote terminal in your neighborhood. DSL works up to 18,000ft give or take a little. Once you hit that distance game over. Distance and quality of the copper pair are the 2 determining factors that effect DSL.
0 Likes
LennyP