×

Switch Account

Internet Disconnects Every Few Minutes [Please Help]

Internet Disconnects Every Few Minutes [Please Help]

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor Vincent
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-26-2009
Message 1 of 26
(17,023 Views)

Hello I have a Zoom DSL X5V VoIP Gateway and my ISP is Verizon. Every few minutes my internet will disconnect for a while and then connect again. This is becomming very frequent and I can't do anything on the internet without getting disconnected. I tried resetting the router/modem, I tried unplugging and replugging and I tried different wires, nothing works! I had this problem with my old modem/router which was a Westell except it was more severe and I couldn't even go on the internet. Can someone please help me? I'm fed up with this disconnection issue and I want stable internet.

 

Thanks in advance, I'd appreciate any help I can get.

Message Edited by Vincent on 07-26-2009 04:19 PM
25 REPLIES 25
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 2 of 26
(16,981 Views)
Does your new DSL modem have a diagnostic tool to test what your download and upload readings are at?
Contributor Vincent
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-26-2009
Message 3 of 26
(16,969 Views)
Hi I'm not sure what that means, can you please elaborate?
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 4 of 26
(16,949 Views)
Please post your modem stats. It should give you the current download and upload readings of your DSL line.
Contributor Vincent
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-26-2009
Message 5 of 26
(16,941 Views)

It keeps saying : Your post has been changed because invalid HTML was found in the message body. The invalid HTML has been removed. Please review the message and submit the message when you are satisfied.

 

When I try to post it, it doesn't work 😮

Contributor Vincent
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-26-2009
Message 6 of 26
(16,901 Views)
Please, can I get more help? I'm getting fed up with my internet disconnecting every few minutes.
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,757
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 7 of 26
(16,901 Views)
#1 In your router, go to Advanced.

#2 Take a screen shot of what you see, save it and post it.

As an example of how to take a screen shot, save it, and upload it...

a) Press the print screen button.

b) Then go to Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Paint.

c) Press the CTRL and V keys at the same time OR go to Edit -> Paste.

d) Now go to save as

e) Be sure to use save as file type, and select JPG/JPEG.

f) Save the file.

g) Then use http://tinypic.com/ - Or when replying just above View discussion in a popup, it says Add Attachments.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor Vincent
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-26-2009
Message 8 of 26
(16,897 Views)

http://i31.tinypic.com/2z7g96v.png

 

 

http://i31.tinypic.com/2d4bgo.png
Message Edited by Vincent on 07-27-2009 08:21 AM
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,757
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 9 of 26
(16,876 Views)
#1 Ok, by looking at your screens.

The second screen is the "modem status"

#2 In the meantime while waiting for others to reply, here is what that stuff means...

Margin = Signal to noise margin. 6 is pretty bad possibly unusable at times, 20 is very good. You normally want 12dB or better IIRC from back in my DSL days. The higher the number, the better to a point.

Line Attenuation = Measure the amount the signal has degraded. Below 20dB is excellent, above 50 is poor, fill in the dots for anything in between.

Transmit Power = The higher the number, the more power is required to transmit. This number will vary based on the other numbers.

^^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor fedupwithdsl
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Message 10 of 26
(16,805 Views)

Same issue here.

I have been on hold since 9:58 (now 10:45)  and someone picked up the phone and put me back in "Q"

 

I have been having this issue for 3 months and have been on the phone with them many time and now one has been able to fix this problem.  I have a Mac and PC connect. I have tried both directly and wireless and my connection still cuts out.

 

Is it time for a class action law suit to get our money back to pay the contract cancellation fee?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.