Re: Mac Mail problem
Techman28
Master - Level 1

How many people are FIOS customers, DSL Customers, or Dialup customers.

Message Edited by Techman28 on 11-26-2008 03:05 PM
0 Likes
vandrv

I am the one who started this thread. I am a dsl subscriber. I amstill having this problem.

Joe

0 Likes
Techman28
Master - Level 1
I'm going to suggest everyone check their settings just to be on the safe side just in case. I am pretty confident that Verizon wouldn't have changed your passwords. I'm going to recommend you call in and have someone check the settings with you.
Message Edited by Techman28 on 11-26-2008 03:15 PM
0 Likes
brc9876

I am having this problem and my parents are having it also.  Since we are all having the same problem, and since it started around the same time for all of us, without changing things on our end, it is pretty obvious to me that it is a Verizon problem.  I am a software engineer and this is my theory:

Verizon's servers started to get a bit "flaky" last week.  All mail applications periodically check the servers to see if there is any new mail.  When the server is acting funny and the connection is rejected when checking for mail, most mail applications probably wait and try again a little bit later.  But Mac Mail probably assumes that it is getting rejected because of a bad password, so it tries to get the correct password from the user, even though it already has the correct password.  In other words, the problem is there for everyone, but those of us using Mac Mail actually see the problem.

Again, that's just a theory.